Lessons Learned from Streaming Spiritfarer on Twitch

Learning as I go

Caitlin Jill
SUPERJUMP
Published in
3 min readJan 11, 2021

--

Choosing what to stream next is not at all an easy task. It sort of seems to be a consensus among streamers. Maybe it’s easy for some people, but personally, I’m anxious and indecisive. Choices are not usually my forte.

As I was doing my dance of the indecisive, my partner who streams suggested I subscribe to Xbox Game Pass, where you can download games for PC too. He was browsing through all the different options and texting me about ones he thought I’d like when all of the sudden he got super excited. “SPIRITFARER,” he texted me in all caps. I’d never heard of the game in question, so I went to check it out and was immediately intrigued.

In the game, you play the Spiritfarer named Stella, who is tasked with collecting spirits and helping them fulfill their final wishes, so they can then transition peacefully to the afterlife through something called the Everdoor. The description and the trailer were compelling enough to pull me in but vague enough that I still had no idea what to expect — which sounded like the perfect candidate for a stream to me.

I’ve streamed Spiritfarer around five or six times now, and I absolutely love it. Both the game and the streaming experience have been amazing, and I can’t wait to keep streaming it again and again and…

--

--

Caitlin Jill
SUPERJUMP

Queer, polyam, neurodivergent Los Angeles based writer with a lot of stories to tell. I enjoy being myself and talking about sex.