Miitopia Has No Right To Be As Good As It Is

Welcome to an RPG with Miis and Twerkeys that’s somehow still amazing

Cat Webling
SUPERJUMP
Published in
6 min readJun 19, 2021

--

So I saw a new demo on the Nintendo eShop about two months back called Miitopia. An RPG of cute Mii characters that could do magic and fight evil? Sign me up!

I expected to play the demo for maybe half an hour and forget about it. I played it for five hours then bought the game and haven’t put it down.

There’s just something so addicting about the mindlessness of it. It’s fun and it’s goofy and I love that I can just dive into it and not have to plan things out too far in advance.

This game is super fun, even if it’s incredibly simple.

Screenshot by the author.

The Story

You play as…well, you, if you want. You create a Mii to be the hero of your story, a lowly traveler who suddenly encounters a monster! You’re blessed with divine power to become one of the six base “jobs” (their equivalent of classes).

When you manage to defeat the monster, you learn that the Dark Lord Insert Silly Name Here (no, really, you get to pick it) has been stealing the faces of…

--

--

Cat Webling
SUPERJUMP

Hello! I’m Cat, a writer and editor based out of Kansas. I write about literature, theater, gaming, and freelancing. Personal work: catwebling.com.