Nintendo Switch Restored the Fun in My Life

From win at all costs, to fun at all costs

Caleb Mackie
SUPERJUMP
Published in
4 min readJun 24, 2020

--

I have spent the better half of the last decade playing video games competitively. My constant need to win at all costs and my dream of being that MLG PRO ignited from the first day I started playing Halo 3 back in late 2007. When I learned people were able to live out these amazing careers as professionals at the games that they loved, I decided I would stop at nothing to make this dream a reality.

As you may have already realized at this point, I am not some elite pro gamer in the way that my 15-year-old self dreamt of being. I would go from game to game, hoping that this would be the one where I would meet my potential and kick off my amazing gaming career. Embarking on this journey ended up being much more than I ever bargained for. It would give me a purpose, cause friction in my relationships, distract me from my real-life responsibilities, and even resulted in a broken hand.

This experience came to a screeching halt as my college studies took precedent over gaming, and my early 20s gave me the perspective that was needed to learn that I didn’t have the natural talent to make it to the top and that’s okay.

Feeling Lost

--

--

Caleb Mackie
SUPERJUMP

Part-time writer, full-time dreamer. Working every day towards my dream to write for a living.