Octopath Traveler is a Loving Homage to 16-Bit JRPG Classics

Old-school visuals bundled with modern design makes this game shine

Paul Lombardo
SUPERJUMP
Published in
5 min readOct 31, 2020

--

Growing up, I never was exposed to classic RPGs such as the Final Fantasy series. My grandfather introduced me to gaming and the titles he played were often modern shooters and RPGs; Call of Duty and Fallout are prominent examples. I didn’t get to play these older games that always interested me (Final Fantasy X, for example) until I was older and had the means to. Octopath Traveler caught my eye as soon as I saw the reveal trailer. A gorgeous, turn-based JRPG with obvious inspiration from older JRPGs like Final Fantasy VI.

Octopath Traveler was released on July 13th, 2018, for the Nintendo Switch. The Switch was a great platform to release Octopath, as it tended to breathe life into any game that made its way to the console. Since I hadn’t been using my Switch as often as I desired, pre-ordering Octopath Traveler with my birthday money was a no-brainer. A few weeks later, I had my hands on the game, and I was in awe.

The game features eight protagonists, all of which are fully voiced and interesting in their own ways. All characters have a unique storyline to explore.

--

--

Paul Lombardo
SUPERJUMP

Journalist writing about video games and the stories they tell | Student at the University of Florida