Scarlet Nexus Is the Most Nonsensical Fun You’ll Ever Have

Great gameplay attempts to balance a poorly implemented story

Alex Anyfantis
SUPERJUMP
Published in
5 min readNov 12, 2021

--

Throughout the 25-hour campaign of this Bandai Namco original role-playing game, I had no idea what was going on or why my character was doing what they were doing, but I sure did enjoy helping them do it!

In my previous article for SUPERJUMP, I talked about how in my attempt to make better use of my PlayStation 5, there were two games that caught my attention. One was Tales Of Arise (my impressions of which you can read about here) and the other was a brand new IP called Scarlet Nexus.

So after completing my journey with the latest Tales Of installment, I turned my eyes towards the latter. Scarlet Nexus is a modern JRPG with heavy action elements and a highly convoluted story.

Poor terminology, messy plot, and bland characters

I started my game playing as the female character Kasane Randall, instead of the male Yuito Sumeragi who’s also available. I’ve had my fair share of male anime protagonists throughout the years and she seemed like a more viable option.

Sadly, my choice wouldn’t do much to help improve my experience with the game’s plot. From the beginning, there are a number of…

--

--

Alex Anyfantis
SUPERJUMP

Media graduate, professional journalist and self-proclaimed Final Fantasy fanboy. Interests (and die-hard passions) include gaming and sports (mainly football).