Smash Ultimate Tips: Avoid Complacency and Continue to Improve

In this entry, I teach you how best to stay consistent in training to improve

Rango
SUPERJUMP
Published in
4 min readOct 25, 2021

--

Recently, I felt like I had hit a plateau. I started playing opponents on my level or below and didn’t have to try like I used to. I started getting overconfident without truly realizing it. Not like, “I’m better than everyone” type of confidence. But rather, my subconscious play was that I didn’t have to try because my nerves weren’t tilted against a good opponent. I began to play “okay” compared to my best.

This isn’t acceptable at high or top-level play. You need to consistently face challenges in order to grow and improve. You also need to face tough opponents in order to reinforce your highest level of play. This is how you push past your limits and learn new things. If you don’t, you’ll end up underperforming at tournaments. That was the hard lesson I had to learn.

Granted, it can be hard to get good practice depending on where you live. If your local area doesn’t have weekly local tournaments, you might be suffering from a lack of offline practice. If you feel like Elite Smash is your only option, you might not run into opponents at a higher skill level. As such, this continued deficit will carry into tournament play.

--

--

Rango
SUPERJUMP

I write pieces on video games of all kinds. Consider supporting my writing on Medium! https://rangothemercenary.medium.com/membership