Step Aside Final Fantasy VII Remake Gang, Yuffie is My New Favorite Playable Character

A dive into the gameplay mechanics of Wutai’s spirited ninja, Yuffie Kisaragi

Paul Lombardo
SUPERJUMP
Published in
4 min readJun 20, 2021

--

Sorry Aerith, as much as I love your terrifying overhead chair scene, you’ve been toppled by Yuffie’s bouncy personality. After spending an hour or so figuring out how to download Final Fantasy VII Remake Integrade on my PlayStation 5 console (Square Enix did NOT make this one as simple as it should have been), I finally got around to playing the newest DLC, Final Fantasy VII Remake InterMISSION. Yuffie’s adorable Moogle getup immediately charmed me, but it wasn’t until I engaged in combat with the Wutaian ninja herself did I realize how incredibly satisfying she was to play.

As Brandon Johnson points out in his article on InterMISSION’s soundtrack, the music of this DLC is nothing short of spectacular. An excitable remaster of “Descendant of Shinobi,” Yuffie’s theme from the original game, accompanies Yuffie in her Remake debut.

While I loved the Final Fantasy VII Remake, one of the most notable complaints I had with it was how some of the characters —…

--

--

Paul Lombardo
SUPERJUMP

Journalist writing about video games and the stories they tell | Student at the University of Florida