Super Jump E3 2018 Retrospective

A few of our favorite things

James Burns
SUPERJUMP

--

This year’s E3 was a big one. There were a ton of announcements, including many incredible games that flew largely under the radar, perhaps because there was just so much to cover. The week of E3 itself is always busy; gamers lap up all the news, and games journalists mostly try to keep up with everything that’s happening.

It was a big year for us at Super Jump, too. This time around, we provided far more hands-on impressions directly from the show floor. If you’re interested in checking out those articles all in the one place, I recommend visiting our E3 2018 Story Stream.

E3 itself might be over, but I find that sometimes it takes a little time to actually digest everything. With that in mind, I gathered together the Super Jump team and asked them to discuss the major stand-outs from their perspective.

As we’re all pretty big Smash fans around here, we thought it’d be fun to represent ourselves with our favourite characters from the series.

I hope you enjoy the Super Jump E3 2018 Retrospective.

James Burns

Editor in Chief

Hideo Kojima proves each year that he has millions of us wrapped tightly around his little finger as we pour over every single detail while he gleefully peels the curtain back ever so slightly more each time.”

Best E3 Press Conference

This is a tough one, because it really depends what criteria you want to use. Judging purely from a business perspective, it’s tempting to say that Sony’s was the most impressive showing, if only because so much of what they showcased was exclusive (and, frankly, remarkable).

As a gamer, I loved Sony’s showcase. I also loved Bethesda’s, and I’m pretty excited about what Ubisoft are doing, especially with The Division 2 and Beyond Good & Evil 2.

But I think, on balance, I’ve got to give this one to Microsoft. Sure, there aren’t many brilliant exclusives coming from what we saw: Halo Infinite could be great, but we know almost nothing about it right now, and it would really need to be a big change from Halo 5 (which certainly looks to be the case). Crackdown 3 continues to vanish into the distance, and I’m really starting to question whether the wait will be worth it. Forza Horizon 4 looks lovely, and I think it’ll be a great game, but how can it compare to juggernauts like The Last of Us Part II and Super Smash Bros. Ultimate?

On the other hand, Microsoft’s conference felt like a huge wrecking ball; it just kept smashing the audience with announcement after announcement. The way it ended (with a “hacking” incident that revealed the jaw-dropping Cyberpunk 2077, and which itself was something of an alternate-reality game) was a true masterstroke. Microsoft nailed it.

Best Trailer

There were a ton of awesome trailers this year. I’m going to cheat here and name a favourite and a runner-up.

My favourite was, without doubt, Cyberpunk 2077. Watching the trailer (while knowing the massive, almost unparalleled depth that CD Projekt Red put into their games) made me giddy. Best of all, there’s very strong evidence (courtesy of our friends at Digital Foundry) that the trailer was, indeed, rendered in real-time (at least with real-time assets). As a huge fan of cyberpunk as a genre — and as a fan of CD Projekt Red — I couldn’t be more excited about Cyberpunk 2077.

My runner up, though? It’s easily got to be Control by Remedy Entertainment. I never played Quantic Break, but I adored the Max Payne series and Alan Wake. Even back in the original Max Payne, I think Remedy were masters of atmosphere. Control not only looks fascinating from a gameplay perspective (talk about a power fantasy), but it surfaces what these maestros of light and shadow can really do, as their years of experience and talent intersect with modern game technology. Wow. I can’t wait for Control.

Most-Anticipated Game Launching in 2018

This is a tricky one. A big part of me is very excited about Fallout 76, because it just might deliver something I’ve always wanted: to play a cooperative survival experience in the nuclear wasteland. I still have a lot of questions about how Bethesda will avoid griefing, but they did specifically acknowledge it during their press conference, which is a good sign — they’ve clearly been thinking about it and looking at ways to provide the best possible online experience for players.

I’m also very, very excited about Spider-Man. It looks gorgeous, I’m hearing that it plays as good as it looks, and it’s by Insomniac Games; for me, it’s pretty much a guaranteed purchase at this point.

But, honestly, I have to say that Super Smash Bros. Ultimate slightly edges out everything else at the moment. That’s a big statement coming from me, because I haven’t really enjoyed a Smash game since Super Smash Bros. Brawl. Somewhere along the line, I simply got bored and lost interest.

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate has revitalised my interest in the series. I’m not entirely sure why; maybe it’s because it features every Smash character in history, which is simply insane. And maybe it’s because the gameplay changes announced so far seem thoughtful and measured; this looks like it’ll be a great Smash game for newcomers and veterans alike. Also, frankly, playing this with friends on the Switch is going to be a blast.

Most-Anticipated Game Launching in 2019 or Beyond

Beyond 2019, there are two games I’m most looking forward to: Cyberpunk 2077 and Death Stranding.

When it comes to Death Stranding, well, we still don’t really know what it’s about. Although I’ve already come across numerous fascinating theories on the internet, including one very detailed video on YouTube which suggests this game is actually Metal Gear Solid 0. Hm. At any rate, the more I see of it, the more fascinated I am. When I watch all of the trailers for this title, I feel like I’m gazing upon something genuinely novel and different — at least in terms of themes and aesthetic design. Hideo Kojima proves each year that he has millions of us wrapped tightly around his little finger as we pour over every single detail while he gleefully peels the curtain back ever so slightly more each time. Of course, Kojima-san has well and truly earned that kind of fan reaction thanks to his prodigious career in game design.

Cyberpunk 2077 not only had a remarkable trailer, but those who saw the behind-closed-doors demo came out drooling; as if they’d genuinely seen something from the distant future. As I said above, CD Projekt Red has clearly demonstrated its ability to create enormous yet fully-realised worlds with The Witcher III. Applying their years of talent and skill to the chaotic, retro-future, neon-infused world of Night City is going to be a sight to behold.

When it comes to 2019 itself though, I’ve got to go with the Resident Evil 2 remake. Capcom’s unveiling of a remake was surprising, in part just because they’re remaking the game, and also because this isn’t simply a prettier version of the original — it’s a complete re-imagining of the classic horror experience from the ground up. Yes, the graphics are entirely new, but it looks like Capcom are drawing from years of survival horror mastery to create what could be the definitive Resident Evil experience. January 2019 can’t come soon enough.

Favorite Underdog

So, what happens when you and your best friend end up in Hell? Yes, capital-H Hell. How do you escape? By out-drinking Satan, of course! Isn’t it obvious? Afterparty is a hilarious and gorgeous-looking game by Night School Studios, the creators of Oxenfree. I love the concept; it feels like a great setup for plenty of hilarity, and it gives the developers a broad canvas to design a bizarre and beautiful world. Here’s the trailer, if you haven’t seen it:

My second choice would have to be Sable, which immediately caught my eye and which has clear Breath of the Wild vibes. I see that one of my colleagues has also suggested this one, so I recommend reading on to find out more.

Josh Bycer

Contributor & Owner of Game-Wisdom

“Dead Cells may have been announced during the show, but I’ve been enjoying this metroidvania rogue-like since its early access release. I can’t wait for more people to check out the game now that it has been confirmed for consoles.”

Best E3 Press Conference

I felt like Microsoft had the best balance of showcasing games and presenters on stage. Even though it didn’t have the colorfulness of Ubisoft, the presentation remained consistent throughout.

Best Trailer

I guess I can kind of cheat for this one, and nominate the presentation/trailer for Super Smash Brothers Ultimate. While the Nintendo Direct didn’t give us a lot of anything else, it was a great time to be a Smash fan and listen to all the changes and returning characters to the franchise.

Most-Anticipated Game Launching in 2018

Dead Cells may have been announced during the show, but I’ve been enjoying this metroidvania rogue-like since its early access release. I can’t wait for more people to check out the game now that it has been confirmed for consoles, and for the team to get the success that they definitely deserve.

Most-Anticipated Game Launching in 2019 or Beyond

A brand new From Software title is enough to get me excited. Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice has got me very interested, thanks to the idea that it isn’t simply copying the Dark Souls/Bloodborne formula. While we don’t know a lot about it yet, seeing them work on another original IP gives me hope that they’ll continue their streak of great action games.

Favorite Underdog

Maneater: What other genre could be more of an underdog than the “control an animal” genre? I’ve had a chance to be a dolphin, a dog, birds, and whatever we would classify the creatures of Spore, but rarely a shark. The whole idea of a “SharkPG” has me intrigued, and I’m tempted to make a few shark-related puns, but I’m not going to take the bait.

Wyatt Donigan

Editor at Large

“Cyberpunk 2077 is probably my most anticipated game of the entire show. While I’m no doubt excited to play Smash when it comes out this December, I absolutely cannot wait until I can get my hands on Cyberpunk.”

Best E3 Press Conference

In a sea of press conferences that showed us a bunch of games we had already seen before, Microsoft’s conference stood out above the rest. As a huge Xbox 360 fan, this press conference really brought me back to the heydays of being a Microsoft fanboy with the announcement of both Halo Infinite and Gear of War 5. The amount of hours I put into the original Gears trilogy and Halo 3 is kind of absurd and I was incredibly hyped to hear about the new entries into these storied franchises.

More than that, though, Microsoft actually put on your prototypical E3 press conference that was filled with a healthy balance of execs on stage and bombastic trailers. In addition to the aforementioned titles, we got mention of a new Xbox in the pipeline, a great Devil may Cry 5 trailer (that is now drilled into my brain after watching it half a dozen times while waiting in line to play Mega Man 11), a long-awaited glimpse at Cyberpunk 2077, and even an (albeit brief) mention of a new Battletoads. It was clear that Microsoft was swinging for the fences here with their conference and it certainly paid off in my book.

Best Trailer

Man, do I have to pick just one? There were so many great trailers to come out of this year’s E3 that it’s hard for me to pick just a single one. If I had to narrow it down to a couple, though, it would have to be Devil May Cry 5 and Control.

With DMC, this trailer showed off everything that this series is about. Set to a pulse-pounding hard rock soundtrack, this trailer came at you fast and furious. We got many glimpses of the sword and gun-heavy gameplay that we’ve come to know and love, as well as a look at some of core members of the cast that we’ll see throughout the game. . Above all else, Capcom saved the best for last in this trailer, with the final shot showing Dante blazing down the street on a motorcycle in this trademark red trench coat. Spring 2019 can’t come fast enough.

While DMC gave me a look at some characters I was familiar with, Control intrigued me in a completely different way. There was a gun that looked to be breathing, some Doctor Strange/Inception style mind-bending sequences, and some telekinesis-looking combat that seemed like a ton of fun. We’ve got nothing as much as a release year or anything for this one, but it surely made a lasting impression with just two minutes of footage.

Most-Anticipated Game Launching in 2018

This one has to be Super Smash Bros. Ultimate without a doubt, and that’s saying a lot considering the fact that I haven’t played a Smash title since Melee was released way back in the day. Even then, I didn’t even play the game very much outside of a few sessions at a friend’s house. With Ultimate, though, I’m sitting here counting down the days until this game is released.

The fact that this game is bringing back every single character that has ever been in a Smash game makes it feel like the perfect jumping on point for someone like me. I’ll never have to know what it was like to be a Snake main in one game only to have him ripped away for the next game. I’ll be able to hop right in and get down to business with any character I want.

Not to mention the fact that this game just looks downright gorgeous. Each of the 14 times (yes, I have a bit of a problem) I played the game at E3, I just couldn’t get over how great it looked. The colors on every stage were so vibrant and so reminiscent of everything I love about Nintendo. December really needs to hurry up to I can fully dive into this game and get gud, as the kids these days say.

Most-Anticipated Game Launching in 2019 or Beyond

Cyberpunk 2077 is probably my most anticipated game of the entire show. While I’m no doubt excited to play Smash when it comes out this December, I absolutely cannot wait until I can get my hands on Cyberpunk. As a huge fan of the entire cyberpunk genre, the title alone was enough to hook me way back when this game was first announced by CD Projekt Red. Given that they were behind perhaps one of the biggest games of this current generation in The Witcher 3 (although I have to confess that I haven’t actually played it ducks under a table), my hopes are incredibly high for Cyberpunk.

While I didn’t get to see any of the hands-off gameplay of this game at E3, I’ve read enough about it and heard about it enough from people at the show that I’m even more excited to see more of this in the future. The blend of first-person shooting with RPG elements (damage numbers in shooters like Destiny and Borderlands is so satisfying to me) all with a futuristic, cyberpunk backdrop is s recipe for success in my eyes. I’ve got no idea when we’re actually going to be able to play this game, or if it’ll even be playable on our current gen systems, but I will be waiting with bated breath to find out anything I can about Cyberpunk 2077 in the months ahead.

Favorite Underdog

An action RPG where you play as a shark. Need I say more? Maneater was the surprise of the show for me, as despite only getting a two-minute trailer during a jam-packed PC Gamer Show, I was completely enamored with the concept. I love sharks very much and the thought of being able to level up my shark abilities to run around and kill unsuspecting humans is just so enticing. I tried to play it on the showroom floor at E3, but the developers didn’t have a working build of it available to play yet. You can bet that as soon as something is released, though, that I’ll be all over it.

Mitchell Wolfe

Editor at Large, Producer of the Super Jump Podcast

“Do yourself a favor and do not sleep on Sable. If you get excited for it now, you can act like a hipster and say “I liked Sable before it was cool” when it inevitably takes the world by storm when it finally comes out.”

Best E3 Press Conference

In an otherwise light year, Microsoft came to win. It’s no secret that the Xbox brand isn’t attached to as many exceptional exclusives as Playstation or Nintendo, but, for the first time since the Xbox One’s launch, things are really looking up for the future. In addition to showcasing strong new exclusives like Halo Infinite, Gears 5, Forza Horizon 4, and Crackdown 3, Microsoft focused on showcasing their new acquisitions. After announcing that they’ve absorbed four new to-be-first-party developers (including the critically acclaimed Ninja Theory) and have begun the process of creating a fifth (codenamed “The Initiative”), it’s hard to ignore Microsoft as a real threat in the future console generation. Also, Battletoads was there.

Best Trailer

Beyond Good & Evil 2 keeps looking incredibly special. I thought for sure that after explaining how early the game was last year, it would spend a year underground. This game still isn’t close, but it did show up at this E3 and it showed well. We’re still in the cinematic trailer phase of thise game’s development, but Beyond Good and Evil 2 cinematic trailers continue to look amazing and have a great sense of narrativity, so I’m not complaining.

The big reveal at the end that Jade, the main character from the first game, will be appearing, is exciting, but my favorite part is how much comradery between crew members Ubisoft is showcasing. Pey’j the pig is getting defensive about his cooking, Knox the chimp is falling asleep while at watch, there’s a guy who’s in love with a computer, it’s great. Between the tone, the characters, and the world, Ubisoft is knocking it out of the park.

Most-Anticipated Game Launching in 2018

It’s Smash. I thought about lying and saying that it was something cool like Spider-Man or something that’s not getting quite as much media attention like We Happy Few, but it’s Smash. The Super Smash Bros. Ultimate reveal felt like Sakurai himself had read my diary. There are fewer newcomers this time so each one will likely be held to a higher level of scrutiny; the Pokémon Trainer is back; the air dodge now sends you outwards in a direction; and the game is now set at a faster pace which will, hopefully, make for better spectatorship. I didn’t think any of these things were reasonable things to ask for, but now they are all here. If further news about this game continues to be as excellent as its reveal, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate will be something truly special.

Most-Anticipated Game Launching in 2019 or Beyond

After the mixed reception of Quantum Break in 2016, Remedy has been fairly quiet about their next project until now. We got a trailer for Control during Sony’s press conference where we were introduced to the “Oldest House,” the building in which the Federal Bureau of Control is headquartered. The building does not behave according to traditionally accepted laws of physics and the crux of the game seems to be centered around the Director of the Bureau trying to find her way through. As a fan of dream logic in video games, I’m very excited to see how the game uses the Oldest House and interrupted causality to throw the player off of their rhythm. All of this is without mentioning how beautiful the game looks. Control is made using Remedy’s new Northlight engine and the lighting is just exceptional. The majority of what we’ve seen so far is a grayscale concrete building, but the lighting is so impressive that everything still pops. This is definitely something to look out for.

Favorite Underdog

Sable is described by The Verge as “looking like a Moebius comic and playing like Breath of the Wild,” which might be the fastest way to sell me on a video game ever. If you haven’t seen the official trailer yet, you owe it to yourself to check it out. It made its big debut during the PC Gaming Show, which is the least watched of the main conferences, so I haven’t heard as many people talking about it as I think it deserves.

Do yourself a favor and do not sleep on Sable. If you get excited for it now, you can act like a hipster and say “I liked Sable before it was cool” when it inevitably takes the world by storm when it finally comes out.

Mitchell Whyen

Contributor

“A lot of people might not care about it, but The Awesome Adventures of Captain Spirit really captured my eye as well as my heart.”

Best E3 Press Conference

Just on sheer quantity, I feel like third-party conferences have a tough run at this. EA seemingly forfeited with their Battlefield V reveal beforehand and barely showing any Anthem gameplay. Square Enix basically did the same by not showing their long-awaited Avengers game or even an update on Final Fantasy VII Remake.

Ubisoft and Bethesda gave it their best shot, but I think leaks really ruined any chance of surprising the audience. Assassin’s Creed Odyssey and Fallout 76 were strong showings, but learning about them beforehand killed a bit of the buzz. I felt Bethesda really didn’t need to compete with Death Stranding and FFVII in the “Which game will come out first?” stakes with their Elder Scrolls VI announcement, but they came across relatively well as far as third parties go.

Nintendo had to reload their cannons this year, understandably so after their juggernaut Switch launch in 2017, but their conference was something of a bitter pill to swallow. On one hand, I’ve lost any interest I had in Pokémon Let’s Go Pikachu/Eevee, but Smash’s ever-growing crossover with new gameplay changes has me much more interested in it.

I thought Sony was going to come back from last year’s ‘only games’ mentality with how they started off. A literal TLoU experience (with a guest appearance by Gustavo Santaolalla) and then… an awkward intermission with interviews about Call of Duty and Destiny? Then we got thrown into a typical E3 conference with no semblance of continuity peppered in with dreadful intermissions of Dreams. It felt akin to a group project split up between a creative artist and a by-the-books student then haphazardly glued together at the last minute when they realized the due date was tomorrow. By the sheer quality of the games, it gets a passing grade but a mention from the professor to not try this again.

It might feel like Microsoft won by playing it safe, but they just came out regimented like I imagined but really stepped it up this year. Halo and Gears are always welcome but expected staples of Microsoft. What was really impressive was able to get From Software’s Sekiro and of course that awesome ending with Cyberpunk 2077. Having games is important, but I really thought their announcement of owning five new studios in order to push their first-party portfolio was what really pushed it over the top for me.

Best Trailer

Naughty Dog has really mastered the art of a trailer at this point. They can craft a roller-coaster ride with Uncharted’s big action set pieces, but just as easily turn around and create a gritty, realistic experience with their E3 2012 The Last of Us demo.

This year, they decided to dive into what felt like a short film by telling an interesting narrative of Ellie’s personality. I genuinely thought that was a unique way to showcase The Last of Us Part II for the first time. She’s just a normal girl, but at the same time, she’s this cutthroat killer that kills without remorse. Most trailers prefer to either demonstrate a section of the game or a cinematic that reinforces the style of the game for the audience. The Last of Us Part II does fits both in a way that doesn’t feel overbearing.

Most-Anticipated Game Launching in 2018

This was a bit of a harder choice as there wasn’t many games that were all that enticing at this year’s E3 showcase. While most seemed to have their eyes set on 2019 and beyond, there were still a couple of fantastic games ready to release this year. For me, Spider-Man is my winner for this category.

The wall-crawler’s first claim to glory is typically attributed to the 2004 installment of Spider-Man 2. A game that is loosely based on a movie, but anyone who played it can attest that it felt like much more than that. A game that made traversal a core component of the gameplay in a way that felt both rewarding and just plain fun to maneuver among the skyscrapers of New York City. What better developer to pick than the ones who have a storied history of action-adventure games and experience of blending traversal systems with combat?

With any other developer, I’d be worried about them getting it right. Insomniac’s credentials of being able to make satisfying combat, gameplay loops that don’t feel repetitive, as well as a good humored story almost instantly quelled my fears. I appreciate what we got at E3, giving a little taste of the villains and a gameplay sequence that didn’t feel as QTE-heavy and scripted as the first showcase. But really, all I’m looking for is to spectacularly sling across the skyline as only the the amazing Spider-Man can do.

Most-Anticipated Game Launching in 2019 or Beyond

There’s a lot of games that were shown that I’ve been waiting for a while. A futuristic sci-fi open world game following up on what is arguably one of the best open world games in recent memory in Cyperpunk 2077. An actual sequel to my personal favorite game of all time in The Last of Us Part Two. A Hideo Kojima game where he’s free from the shackles of Konami and Metal Gear Solid.

But I’d by lying if I said I wasn’t more excited for the Resident Evil 2 remake.

Whispers of a possible remake have floated around ever since the GameCube release; only when the game was remastered for the current-gen consoles and PC did we see the most underwhelming announcement of “Yeah, we’re working on it.”

Right when I saw that beautiful looking rat crawl by that RE Engine-textured PlayStation, I could smile happy knowing that this was the remake I’ve been waiting so long for. I admit I was a bit of a purist by wishing it was still in a fixed camera angle, but after witnessing some of the gameplay, I’m all in for Resident Evil 2. And the part that really makes it my most anticipated game? I only have to wait 7 months before sinking my teeth into it.

Favorite Underdog

A lot of people might not care about it, but The Awesome Adventures of Captain Spirit really captured my eye as well as my heart. Dontnod’s second spin-off of the Life is Strange universe about a kid and his imaginary belief in being the superhero of his own story is just endearing as hell.

It just triggered my memory back to a more simpler time when I would mess around with friends, having the most fun with nothing but our imaginations. The fact that it’s free and comes out this week is just the cherry on top of it all.

Thanks for reading the Super Jump E3 2018 Retrospective. I hope you had as much fun reading it as we had writing it.

I’m interested in your feedback about the show, too. What games are you most looking forward to? Are there any underdogs you’re excited about, but perhaps they didn’t receive widespread attention?

Feel free to comment on this article here at Medium, or better yet, send us an email to podcast@superjumpmagazine.com. We’ll read out your thoughts on the show!

--

--