World of Warcraft’s Leveling Improvements are a Breath of Fresh Air

Change can be good, and in this case, it is

Joe Lavoie
SUPERJUMP
Published in
3 min readOct 29, 2020

--

World of Warcraft recently released a pre-patch for the upcoming Shadowlands expansion. With that came the level crunch to a max level of 50, a far fall from 110. I decided to put my max level rogue to the side, and start a new toon. Maybe an Alli….hahaha, who are we kidding, FOR THE HORDE!

Let me be clear when I say this: I have not had this much fun in World of Warcraft in a long time.

Character customization has been expanded tremendously. My blood elf paladin is highly customized with quite the attitude and I’m pretty pumped with what’s available. I happened to switch over to undead, and the selection there is so much better than when I was building my initial character. I might have to send him to the barbershop in-game to get a new look.

Blood Elves have never looked so cool!

With my new paladin, I entered the world of Azeroth, but unlike every other time I’ve started a new toon, I was given a choice: original or extra crispy. Actually, the choice was to start in the old zone or go into a new scenario, entitled “Exile’s Reach”, which gets you through your first 10 levels and ends with a mini-dungeon. I chose the new experience and it really was a great starting line for new players. This was how the game SHOULD be played.

The new starting points. Pick your poison.

From there, you’re tossed into the current content, which is pretty awesome. No longer do you have to wait to play new stuff, as areas and enemies will now level-sync. It makes for a really awesome experience, however, this wasn’t what I wanted to do. I wanted to try out “Chromie Time”, which is where you can enter any of the previous expansions, and have it level synced for your current level.

Previously, you would get a quest once your level ticked up to match the content level, and if you missed it, you’d have to go back to lower level areas and just breeze through it.

BORING.

Chromie Time!

This is no longer the case though!

I decided to dive back into The Wrath of the Lich King, an expansion I loved. I intend to make my way to level 50 on the continent of Northrend. From there, I think I’ll create a toon to get through The Burning Crusade, then maybe Legion.

While Shadowlands should be out by now, this is an entirely new way to play the game. It has grabbed me, with both the character customization and the level squish. Azeroth seems different, more friendly to this aging player.

Source: Blizzard.

That’s the way games should be!

What do you think? Have you experienced any of the new changes? What do you think? Let me know!

--

--

Joe Lavoie
SUPERJUMP

Dad/Husband, Developer, Pixel Artist, Gamer, Opinionated.