Treasure Hunts, Easter Eggs, and Side Quests in the Metaverse

The foundational elements in adventure and storytelling games are essential parts of the immersive digital future

Doug Antin
SUPERJUMP

--

I always felt that the best video games take the form of elaborate stories and adventures. As a kid, I have memories of playing The Legend of Zelda, known for its expansive adventure and storyline. I recall being frustrated as I struggled to uncover clues on how to make progress. Through my frustration, I learned to pay attention to the details within a game. I became aware of the importance of subplots, opportunities to gain experience, and resources to make progress easier.

Side quests have been an important element of gaming for many years. They provide opportunities for players to become competent with game mechanics, providing experience, in-game resources, and add depth to storylines by adding subplots.

In my early years of gaming, I learned that different tactics were needed in different situations. As time progressed and games became more intricate, the importance of the nuance and depth of play became more important. I became aware of the increasing depth of exploration that was possible within games. I found that I enjoyed this nuance. The hidden easter eggs, backstories, and quirky homages to…

--

--