Unravel Two Review

Fun unfurls!

Cole Durrett
SUPERJUMP

--

I remember when this game was showcased at E3 2018, a lot of people complained that it wasn’t coming to the Switch. “You play as two little guys who are red and blue, just like the Joy-Cons; it’s a perfect fit!” Then the game at last dropped for the hybrid console in 2019, and…nobody talked about it? I figured it was just a come-and-go kind of game, something that grabs people’s attention with its art direction but is quickly discarded by the populace once it becomes old news. But when I saw this little number on the eShop at the criminal price of $4.99 for Black Friday, I just had to bite. That was, incidentally, the only Black Friday sale I took advantage of, and I don’t think I could have made a better decision.

Unravel Two is sublime, but what separates this not-technically-indie experience from others of its kind? The digital game marketplaces are littered with simple 2D games developed by small studios, all of which claim to have that “modest retro charm” despite extremely varying levels of quality. It takes only a glance at the “Great Deals” section of the Nintendo eShop to see what I’m talking about.

Unravel Two is not like those throwaway games. The central gameplay mechanic of two adorable creatures tethered together is incredibly unique and makes for dozens of scenarios I could never imagine in any other game. You’ll reach an obstacle that seems impossible to traverse, so you play around with the controls and mechanics for a while until you realize what you have to do. Often this involves swinging one Yarny up onto a higher platform, which will then allow you to rappel up to that first Yarny using the one left behind. You might activate switches using one Yarny, go back to the other one, move an object, then switch back and readjust for the changed terrain, then switch back and unite the Yarnies by rappelling through an opening that didn’t exist before. It’s a very simple gameplay mechanic, but not only is it completely unique, but it’s all-encompassing — the entire game revolves around it, but never does it wear thin on the player. Never did I put the controller down and think “all right, guys, I think I get it.” The game was constantly bringing in new and challenging puzzles like a chef curating an ever-expanding buffet.

Source: Electronic Arts.

Part of why this game doesn’t wear out its welcome is its rather short length, but the challenge levels provide some great additional head-scratchers as well as buff up the playtime. I didn’t complete all of these because I’m not very smart, but they were greatly appreciated. You can even unlock further customization for your Yarnies beyond the default colors and facial features, and ever since playing Super Mario Odyssey, I don’t think I’ve ever been able to turn down fun cosmetic options like these.

One feature I really appreciated was the option to prioritize either resolution or framerate. I generally prefer to have a clean 60 FPS over dazzling visuals, and I really love that the game allowed me to choose my ideal performance setting. More games should do this in my opinion (of course, I’m not a PC gamer, so maybe I’m missing out…).

Unravel Two is no masterpiece, but it’s a brilliant example of a low-key game full of charm and originality. Don’t write it off as budget trash like I feel so many already had by the time it came to the Switch — you’ll find a great if short-lived experience in this world of fabric and fun, and there’s even a decently compelling story to parse out if you feel like it. I wouldn’t suggest paying the full twenty bucks for it as it will only keep you busy for a few hours, but I strongly recommend you snipe it on SALE when next the opportunity presents itself.

--

--