We Don’t Just Play Games. We Feel Them.

Games are so much more than pixels on the screen

Shawn Laib
SUPERJUMP
Published in
6 min readSep 2, 2020

--

Pride

Pride is beating King K. Rool without my dad having to grab the controller from me to finish the job. Fast forward five years and pride is taking the controller from my dad to finish off the boss he cannot beat so that he can see the secret ending cutscene to Metroid Prime.

Pride is having my younger brother watch me play games, year after year, even when we are both adults, ignoring the stigma that we should be doing something else. It’s seeing my brother happy because I finally tried a game that he’s been trying to convince me to play for eons.

Pride is pushing others to enjoy this marvelous hobby, and seeing the enjoyment they are now getting out of it.

Love

Love is playing Mario Party with my mom, my dad, and my brother on a Saturday night, enjoying this special virtual board game with the people most important to me and the hobby that speaks so much to my inner self. The fact that my mom, who can’t play games to save her life, would undergo participation in such a foreign activity just to appease her children demonstrates her love so profoundly.

Love is coming back to the same game over and over again, like visiting a family…

--

--

Shawn Laib
SUPERJUMP

University of Washington Class of 2020 in English Literature and fan of video games and basketball. Twitter: @LaibShawn