A Journey from Academy Trainee to Intern: Interview with Two Developer Interns

Interview about being a trainee&intern at Supercent

--

The Academy holds various meanings for Supercent.

It serves as a great example of Supercent’s slogan, “Grow Together”, and it’s also a fantastic program that introduces Supercent to those interested in hyper-casual game development or aspiring professionals in the gaming industry. Moreover, it offers a chance to attract outstanding students who have a passion for developing hyper-casual games

In February, the 2nd term of Supercent’s Hyper Casual Game Development Academy ended on a high note, with two of its graduates joining Supercent as interns. We interviewed these individuals in this blog post, so if you’re interested in Hyper Casual Game Development Academy, keep reading!

Q. Could you briefly tell me about yourself and what inspired you to pursue game development?

Danny : Hi, I’m Danny, the second cohort graduate of the Supercent Hypercasual Academy. Like most game developers, I’ve loved playing games since I was young, so naturally, I became interested in game development and started pursuing it.

Gio : Hi, I’m Gio. Just like Denny, I’ve been a game enthusiast since my childhood, and I always had a passion for anything related to games. However, when it came to choosing a field of study, my parents were against me pursuing game development. So, I ended up switching to computer science. Nevertheless, I couldn’t let go of my dream, so I continued self-studying game development on the side. While awaiting graduation, I stumbled upon the Hyper Casual Game Development Academy. It is the perfect opportunity to solidify my knowledge and bridge any gaps in my understanding.

Q. Throughout the academy, what would you say was the most challenging or difficult aspect for you personally?

Danny : You know, the lectures and assignments in the Supercent Hyper Casual Game Development Academy were tougher than I thought. It was quite a challenge trying to absorb everything in such a short time. I mean, those assignments… They really pushed me to my limits. But whenever I hit a roadblock, I had my fellow classmates right there with me, ready to brainstorm and figure things out together. And when things got really tough, the mentors were always there to lend a helping hand. They never let us give up, and we stuck with the academy till the very end.

Gio : For me, The most challenging part of the academy was definitely the game mockup process. It didn’t go as planned as I thought. However, what made a significant difference this time was the presence of other students and mentors. Unlike my previous experience of developing games on my own, I had the opportunity to collaborate and exchange ideas with them. It was immensely helpful to have their support and guidance whenever difficulties arose.

Q. So, at the end of the Hypercasual Game Development Academy, you all had to create your own game as the final assignment. I’m really curious, what did you and your team come up with?

Miner Story / Paper Spin

Danny : I created a game called “Miner Story,” which falls under the arcade idle genre. In “Miner Story,” players mine ore and earn money to expand their land. Personally, I have always enjoyed playing games of this genre and had a lot of fun, so I decided to try making one myself.

Gio : I created a game called “Paper Spin,” which is a puzzle game where players need to rotate a scrambled image and reassemble it correctly to reveal its original shape. I aimed to make the game accessible to everyone with straightforward controls, while also providing a rewarding sense of achievement.

Q. How has your experience at the Academy been? Have you noticed any changes or growth in yourself since starting?

Danny : C# is a widely recognized object-oriented programming language, and it serves as the foundation for the Unity engine that we’re covering here at Supercent. Since I’ve been working with C#, I’m trying to be more object-oriented when developing games. So I think the most significant change for me is my new approach to game development.

Gio : When I develop games, I make sure to give careful thought to the data structure now. In the past, I would just focus on adding features without really considering how they fit into the bigger picture. But after completing an academy program, I realized just how important it is to have a consistent and well-planned data structure.

Q. Would you recommend Supercent Hyper-casual Game Development Academy to others, and if so, why?

Danny : I would definitely recommend Supercent’s Hyper-casual Game Development Academy to others. One of the significant advantages is the opportunity to interact and network with other participants. But what sets it apart is the exceptional teaching approach. It’s super practical and well-organized, which is exactly what you need if you want to succeed in the game development industry.

Gio : One of the best aspects was being able to receive practical feedback from professionals actively working in the industry and hearing their stories about the field. Moreover, the mentors provided advice based on their experiences, guiding us on the attitude and mindset required as developers. This greatly helped broaden my perspective as a developer and was incredibly beneficial.

Q. I’d love to hear your thoughts on your experience as an intern at Supercent so far. Could you also share your goals and aspirations for the rest of your internship?

Danny / Gio

Danny : Even though we shared the same office, my time as an academy student and as a development intern felt like two completely separate experiences. Working on the game alongside my mentors was an entirely new experience for me, and I was pleasantly surprised by how many developers were willing to lend a helping hand. Moving forward, I’m eager to continue learning and gaining more experience as an intern, with the ultimate goal of achieving a global release.

Gio : During my time as a student at the academy, I thought the members were putting in a considerable amount of effort. However, once I began working with them as part of the team, I realized that they are actually working significantly harder than I had initially thought, and that makes me want to do my best as well. For the rest of my internship, I hope to not only create and release a game of my own design but also learn from the senior developers’ know-how and knowledge along the way.

Q. What kind of developer do you want to be in the future?

Danny : My goal is to become a game developer who makes easy and enjoyable games for everyone. Through my game, I want to share the moment I was captivated by a game for the first time with others.

Gio : After passing my graduation project, I think I was full of complacency. But after taking the Supercent Hyper-Casual Game Development Academy, I realized that I was a babe in the woods. The academy made me realize the limitations of my skills, so now I want to be a developer who grows by filling those gaps.

Thank you, Denny and Gio, for answering the interview!

Click here and publish your game with Supercent!

[Contact]
- E-mail: help@supercent.io
- Homepage:
en.supercent.io

--

--

Supercent.official
Supercent Blog 슈퍼센트 블로그

Insights and tips to take your hyper-casual game to the top of the charts