Walking Shadows 12: Ian wakes

Nicholas Ahlhelm
Superhero Fiction
Published in
13 min readApr 15, 2020

--

Ian slowly struggled awake. As his vision gradually returned, he stared up in to the face of an angel. She was brown-haired, cut in to a sloppy bob that looked perfect over her thick-rimmed glasses. A stud sparkled in her nose, as did another in her tongue as she smiled.

“Hey,” she said. “You’re finally awake.” She wiped his head with a lukewarm cloth.

“Where am I?”

“Oh, sorry. I forget we haven’t met yet. You’re at Spirit Cop Incorporated.” Her voice changed as she spoke the last three words, suddenly taking a higher lilt as if promoting something. “I’m Peach. I answer the phone when it rings and handle all of Ms. Finch’s paperwork and books. Not to mention nurse unconscious but kind of cute boys back to health.”

“Um, thanks,” Ian said. “The last thing I remember — ” He clutched his forehead as a wave of nausea rolled up from his stomach.

“You collapsed in some girl’s apartment. Alli and your friends brought you here. They seemed a bit paranoid about bringing you to the hospital, so I got nurse duties.”

“Thanks for that. I don’t know what happened.”

“It’s no problem. I can use the extra cash from Ms. Finch for working overtime.”

“Yeah, I guess.” Ian wasn’t quite sure why he was disappointed she was being paid to…

--

--

Nicholas Ahlhelm
Superhero Fiction

Superhero novelist. Wrestling afficianado. Old school gamer. Books at Amazon: amzn.to/2OXodI9. Newsletter: pulpempire.substack.com