Walking Shadows 14: Fight

Nicholas Ahlhelm
Superhero Fiction
Published in
5 min readApr 17, 2020

--

Photo by Ian Espinosa on Unsplash.

The faceless man laughed a mirthless chuckle. “You want answers now, do you? And you think I’m just going to give them to you. I ain’t no snitch, kid, and I’ve met a lot tougher folks than you. Been beaten and broken more times than I can count. I’m untouchable. Unbreakable, at least as far as you’re concerned. You can’t make me talk.”

Cyrus smashed his fist against the other man’s cheek. He didn’t have time to play this fool’s games. He needed answers and he needed them now.

“Keep trying, kid.” He smiled through his broken, bloody teeth and half-formed lips. “But you ain’t going to beat nothing out of me. You can’t scare me. I’ve seen monsters twice as big as you and way more terrifying.”

Cyrus glanced back at the others for just a moment. They were glancing his way, but everyone else seemed more concerned with Garrett and Marilyn. Good. They didn’t need to see this. They couldn’t see this, not if he ever wanted to stay in this city. But he needed answers and this was the man that could give them to him.

He turned back towards the man. He dropped his voice low. “You’ve never met anyone like me.”

Cyrus’s eyes glowed as he felt the darkness rise in him. The pale man’s head beaded with sweat as they met eyes.

--

--

Nicholas Ahlhelm
Superhero Fiction

Superhero novelist. Wrestling afficianado. Old school gamer. Books at Amazon: amzn.to/2OXodI9. Newsletter: pulpempire.substack.com