Walking Shadows 9: scoff

Nicholas Ahlhelm
Superhero Fiction
Published in
5 min readApr 9, 2020

--

Photo by Nathan Jefferis on Unsplash.

“So that’s my story,” Garrett said. “It isn’t exactly the happiest tale I can tell, but it’s my life. I do what I can for my city and try to enjoy every day of life I have lived after that.”

“Wow,” Marilyn said. “That’s something. Do you think these Vivisectors might be behind the attacks?”

Cyrus watched Garrett shake his head. “Everything online about them says they fake disasters to take their subjects. I doubt they would ever use men to capture them. I don’t even think they look at humans as worth the effort to communicate. Besides, there are no reports of them ever going after an escaped subject a second time. They already learned what they wanted when they cut me to pieces.”

Cyrus scoffed at this. He had heard enough.

“What?”

“You’re just willing to leave those monsters out there? They gave you powers, abilities far beyond any human and you use them like a glorified carnie. The people that tortured you, that killed your father and neighbors, are still out there, still taking people, and you do nothing.”

“I’m not a fighter,” Garrett said. “I’m just a man, even with these powers.”

“Excuses,’ Cyrus said.

“I don’t see you out helping people with those sound blasts of yours.”

--

--

Nicholas Ahlhelm
Superhero Fiction

Superhero novelist. Wrestling afficianado. Old school gamer. Books at Amazon: amzn.to/2OXodI9. Newsletter: pulpempire.substack.com