I Tried Low-Caffeine Mushroom Coffee: My MUD WTR Review

John Fawkes
Superhuman By Science
7 min readJan 21, 2021

--

I’ve always been a caffeine junkie– even as a kid, I had an unhealthy love of Dr. Pepper. You’ve probably seen my article on how to quit caffeine, which I’ve done about a dozen times now (not a joke– it’s worth doing even temporarily, to reset your tolerance).

That said, I’ve never been much of a coffee guy. In fact I hated it until five years ago, when a visit to a Balinese coffee plantation taught me that I could enjoy the taste…as long as it was heavily flavored with chocolate, coconut, vanilla, sugar, and other stuff that usually adds a bunch of calories.

So, still more of a tea guy (I’ve ditched the sugared sodas), but I can drink coffee. I’ve just always wished it was a little lower in caffeine, and a little tastier without needing so much stuff added to it.

Now, I’ve spent a lot of time looking for low-caffeine beverages and caffeine alternatives. So when I found out about MUD/WTR last month– a nootropic-infused, low-caffeine coffee alternative– I was naturally intrigued. An ultra low-caffeine coffee, mixed with nootropic/adaptogenic mushroom powder, and flavored with chai spices? Hell yes.

According to the company website, “With 1/7th the caffeine of coffee, mud gives you natural energy, focus and more without the jitters and crash.”

--

--