Live longer and lose fat faster with these 12 healthy spices

John Fawkes
Superhuman By Science
5 min readJun 2, 2017

--

Photo Credit: Paul Morris

Originally published on johnfawkes.com

As a kid, I hated spicy foods. So much so, in fact, that I refused to eat Mexican food, Indian food, or any other ethnic cuisine that I thought might be spicy. I knew what I liked (cheese pizza, chicken, and peanut butter and jelly sandwiches), and I stuck to it.

And that’s a shame, because adding spices to your food is one of the best things you can do to get healthier and lose weight, while loving the food you eat.

When I did eventually wise up and start eating spicy food, I lost 20 pounds in 3 months, and learned to love shrimp tacos and pumpkin chicken curry in the process. Here are the twelve spices I use that have the biggest weight loss and overall health benefits.

Cinnamon

Along with Mint, cinnamon is one of only two spices on this list that I actually did consume as a kid. It’s also one of the best spices you can consume for weight loss. Cinnamon helps to regulate your blood sugar levels, preventing them from spiking after you eat a meal. Consuming at least a gram of cinnamon a day has been shown to reduce fasting blood sugar and cholesterol levels.

Cinnamon makes an excellent flavor additive for desserts, beverages, and fruits. It can be used in place of sugar when…

--

--