Children’s Village 

Sohee Rho

The Cornell Commitment
Cornell Commitment Stories
3 min readJun 9, 2014

--

I spent much of my time with the boys and girls who came into the FCAP program. In the mornings, I would help with the educational coordinator and clinical team supervisor run their lessons. There were several classes where I led the group. We did origami, had a boat race, learned about Ancient Greece, spent time doing a research project, watched a movie and filled out a questionnaire sheet about credit card debt, created collages, read and discussed current events articles, and baked. There were also Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports conversations about using appropriate language, self-confidence, the importance of consequential thinking, and other topics to help the residents think about positive relationships and appropriate social behavior. I helped with meals and snack time, and with thoughtful transitions. Following lunch, we would have recreational activities for them. For the most part, because it is a non-secure detention center, the girls and boys stayed inside and pursued indoor activities, which included activities like yoga, board games, reading, and boy’s/girl’s circle. Boy’s/girl’s circle was a time for the girls and boys, in separated groups, to reflect and talk about various things like issues of discrimination and also to actively build teamwork/interpersonal skills. Some days, with the residents who were on good behavior (on leadership status), we would go to the Lanza Recreational Center. In addition, I spent time conducting youth intakes, service plans, and Individual Crisis Management Plans for the caseworkers as well as doing education interviews and contacting respective middle and high schools in the Westchester County for my educational coordinator. These documents were helpful to the clinical team and were utilized at our clinical meetings, which I attended twice a week, and at scheduled family team conferences. I also read documents on New York State policies on child abuse and neglect and the Code of Ethics of the National Association of Social Workers to get a better understanding for the kind of work the organization does as a whole. I also accompanied the children on some occasions for his or her court appointment at various family court sites and for outpatient clinical evaluations throughout Westchester County. Lastly, I spent Tuesday nights with the girls to lead the summer girls' reading club. I spent time selecting books at an appropriate level for the girls, which was difficult at times due to the unpredictability of their arrival to FCAP as well as their varying level of reading and comprehension. We read a given work of fiction, short stories and/or poems for about half an hour which was then followed by a discussion.

What knowledge did you gain from this experience?

I was able to get a unique view into how a non-secure detention center works as well as the procedures of Family Court in Westchester County of New York State. I was able to work with both the clinical team and the direct care staff, so I was able to see a comprehensive view of my department. Furthermore, I learned a bit about how nonprofits work. I spent a number of hours in training session for the larger Children's Village organization. Some of the details I learned at those seminars included HIV and Health issues, Safety, Therapeutic Crisis Intervention, and Positive Behaviorial Interventions and Supports. I learned how to set service plan goals and conduct individual crisis management plans, communicate professionally with other institutions like schools and hospitals, basic office skills, and what it means to be a mandated reporter. Most of all, I gained the understanding of how truly important children and educational opportunity are to our society.

How did you grow as a result of this experience?

I know how to be a better listener and the power of it. Listening to someone, whether it be about his day or her traumatic experience, empowers the individual and it is the greatest gift one can give: recognition and respect. Of course, one cannot believe always everything another individual says, but it is the first step to something building positive relationships. I have become more culturally competent and have developed better consequential thinking. I have gained perspective and knowledge from stories and conversations shared with me.

--

--