Growing Coversation

Caitlin Arens

The Cornell Commitment
Cornell Commitment Stories

--

WWOOF Italia in Montoggio : At the organic farm Agrituristica Artemesia, I worked daily on the farm harvesting and pruning roses, herbs, vegetables, and fruit in addition to feeding the animals, plowing, weeding, hoeing, watering, and making compost. In addition to harvesting and pruning, I also helped in the kitchen to produce various types of perfumes, liquors, wines, syrups, jams, marmalades using the seasonal produce. I also served as a waiter for a large wedding that was held at the house and helped to prepare the different food and drink courses provided throughout the night.

International Kitchen in Figline Valdarno: I took courses daily about traditional Tuscan cuisine and wine with Claudio and also went on side trips to a local vineyard in the Chianti region, a famous butcher shop in Greve in Chianti, Siena, San Gigmingnano, and Arezzo. In my free time, I also worked directly with Claudio and his sous chef for a local political function, a family party, and normal service in the restaurant.

Ballymaloe Cookery School in Shanagarry: The first week at Ballymaloe Cookery School and Gardens, I took a course where we learned everything from sowing a seed, to traditional Irish recipes, to making jams to pickling to dairy (yogurt, buttermilk, butter, and cream) production, to sourdough and other bread making, to foraging, to plant identification, to smoking, to seasonal cooking with the foods in the garden, to plant harvesting, to composting, to food preservation, and much more. The second week, I worked mostly in the organic gardens harvesting various plants, pruning, weeding, sowing seeds, twisiting tomatoes, hoeing, plowing, composting, etc.

What advice would you give to others considering this experience?

I would encourage anyone to travel on their own before going with others. It might sound terrifying at first, but it really gives you the opportunity to meet a lot of people and make the trip your own without having to worry about the plans of another person or other people. I would tell others to plan more than they think they should when it comes to hostels, transportation within or outside of the country, and trips to museums/landmarks/etc. because it makes travelling by yourself less stressful (especially if you don’t have phone reception or wifi) and because it also allows for you to enjoy the trip without worrying about the logistics of getting or staying there.

How did you grow as a result of this experience?

This trip was an unbelievable growing experience for me as an individual. I've always been a person who enjoyed the company of others, and I learned not only the value of taking time to reflect on my day but also the value of a good conversation with friends around the dinner table. While good conversation has always been something my family has always made time for, I realized how much I appreciated it once I was on my own in countries where English was not the primary language. I also came into my own because I was learning more about how the food that I really enjoy was produced from the farm to the table. I always knew I was passionate about cooking using local and seasonal produce, but I didn't know how passionate I would become for gardening and foraging. While I know I still have so much more to learn about horticulture and food production, I know I have found my passion, and I am excited to discover more of the resources that Cornell has for students interested in having their own farms.

--

--