The reason I wake up before 5am everyday

Hana Mohan
SupportBee CEO
Published in
2 min readJun 23, 2016

I love mornings! They are quiet, beautiful and very productive. I have been waking up early for a couple of years now. The practice started when I lived in Vietnam. I really enjoyed working from cafes there and by waking up early and getting to cafes at 7am, I could enjoy a breakfast and coffee before starting work. This year I started waking up between 4 and 5 in the morning. It has helped me be even more productive. However it wasn’t until recently that I understood the real benefit of waking up early. I had been enjoying the benefit without understanding it but it was great to actually understand it.

Waking up this early forces me to prioritize things in my life. It has helped me stay away from going out and drinking and I sleep on time everyday. Since I start work by 7am and wrap it up by 4pm or so, I still have a lot of time for working out, getting dinner and hanging out with friends. You can manage to wake up early once in a while without sorting our your life but to be able to stick to a routine like this, you really do have to sort your life out.

I strongly believe that having a routine is essential to getting more done and waking up early has helped me stick to a routine. It’s not for everyone but you should give it a shot and see if it works for you too.

--

--