Francesco Catapano
Surf Worldwide
Published in
3 min readAug 1, 2016

--

HONULA MEETS CLAIRE BEVILACQUA: A CONVERSATION WITH FORMER N. 6 OF WORLD SURF TOUR.

Claire, your life is related to the water. Can you tell us when did you start surfing, and when did you realise that it was a lifetime choice?

I started when I found a surfboard in the trash when I was 13, I was skating around my street and I found it being thrown out in my neighbours garbage. As soon as I began, i was obsessed and never looked back.

Which was the highest moment in your career, and how much did you work to get there?

Probably the best I ever felt was when I won the WQS event at Pipeline. I had been surfing there every season since iturned pro and for me there was no other wave in the world that was as important to surf well at as Pipeline. I surfed it every day no matter what the conditions, to become comfortable and earn respect from the local boys.

Can you tell us about your training method, and some suggestions for who wants to improve their skills?

I listen to my body. I run, stretch and do basic body weight strength and conditioning. I train when I feel strong and healthy and I rest when I am tired. I eat exceptionally healthy and mostly Mediterranean like my ancestors. But no. 1 rule is surf as much as possible in all conditions.

What are your plans for the future?

I would like to start competing more again and continue to improve my air game. Get better and stronger every year.

Why surfing is somethin special for you?

Surfing is what inspires me most in life. To be healthier, fitter, and travel.

www.honula.com

If you want to receive our updates register to the Honula newsletter: https://www.getrevue.co/profile/honulainfo/

LIVE. LOVE. SURF.

--

--