My Thoughts On Wish.com

Griffin Regan
SurfingOnThe.net
Published in
3 min readSep 5, 2018

You may have heard of Wish.com from a friend, or seen it in your trending section in YouTube. Wish is a Chinese wholesale site with shockingly cheap prices. YouTubers TechSmartt, ItsYeBoi, and other content creators made videos where they buy items on Wish.com and test them to see if they live up to the description of the item they bought.

I saw these videos and thought that I had to see for myself. So I spent exactly $8 on a couple of items from Wish.com.

Lockpick Set

From Wish.com

The price for this set is advertised as free, but you do have to pay for shipping, which was $3.00.

Editor’s Note (9/5/2018): Wish’s prices do fluctuate, and the price may differ by a few dollars.

There are a lot of lockpick set options ranging in different prices. I got the cheapest one titled “5 In 1 Credit Card Lock Pick Locksmith Picking Train Tools Practice Training Set”. The picture on the listing showed a clear lock and a lockpick set with a pretend VISA card case.

When the product arrived, the card case was cheap, with a sticker on the top being the face of the card. It barely holds all of the lockpicks, and it’s about a centimeter thick. This fake card is not fooling anyone. It is more of just a fun accessory. The set does include all 5 lockpicks, which are surprisingly rigid.

The clear lock in the product photo did not come with the product. In the description, they deceptively say that the product does not include the lock.

That was an assumption made by me, and most likely everyone else who bought it. I am disappointed by the product because it did not include the lock but I did get what was described and if you want some lockpicks for a good price, these are worth considering.

Wallet

From Wish.com

The price I paid for the wallet was $5 in total but the prices fluctuate a lot. I am very disappointed in this wallet. The stitches are fake and the wallet is being held together by a very cheap adhesive that breaks when you open the wallet for put a card in. I will be very surprised if it lasts a week.

The fake leather does look good and shiny. The front logo is majorly offset annoying me whenever I take it out. To the wallets credit, it does look like a nice wallet and has plenty of room.

If you just want a good looking wallet for a good price, then go right ahead. This is not a super nice wallet and may or may not do the job but it looks great!

So, would I buy from Wish.com again? Well, not with the same mindset as before. You might have heard the sayings ‘You get what you pay for” and“It is probably too good to be true”, that applies here too.

If I know what I am getting and don’t expect anything special, then I think the Wish shopping experience can be a good one.

Please help support surfingonthe.net by clapping👏! Thank you!

--

--

Griffin Regan
SurfingOnThe.net

A tech enthusiastic and car mechanic/fanatic. I do not write here but you can check out my stories on https://medium.com/surfing-on-the-net !