Why the Barbie movie resonated with this Buddhist-Christian

Some reflections and other random ramblings

Miss Rachel Reads
Surreal Singapore

--

Image of a Barbie lying face down on the floor, with the words above saying “This Barbie is having an existential crisis”.
Me right now

Introduction

I had 2 friends remark to me on how good the Barbie movie was, and I trust their taste in movies. Also, it was very much praised in my part of Twitter.

So it was with that that I decided to catch it, in an attempt to crawl out of the pit that is the existential crisis I unwittingly found myself stumbling into yet again, this time when my mom developed another schizophrenic episode that almost warranted hospitalisation.

Spoiler alert!

I will be commenting extensively on the plot, so please turn your eyes away should you want to catch the movie blind.

Let’s go!

Barbie’s world changes — A Lesson in Impermanence

When Barbie world’s changes after Ken enforces what he learnt from patriarchy from the real world into Barbieland, she was gobsmacked.

America Ferrera’s character told her, “The world keeps changing, nothing ever stays the same.”

And I was like, BAM! What an excellent lesson in impermanence.

--

--

Miss Rachel Reads
Surreal Singapore

Passionate about mental health and wellness, queer issues in the Southeast Asia region, education, books, and the intersections of all the above. (she/they)