Travelling to Tbilisi Part 2

Lou
Surrogacy: Georgia, UK, Ireland and beyond
5 min readMar 4, 2022
Photo by Jan Genge on Unsplash

On our first day in Tbilisi we explored the city. The first thing that struck us was the quality of the air, its not great. We had heard from so many people what a fantastic city it is. We walked down to the river, European Square, walked over the bridge and visited the cathedral. During our time there we also visited the Mtatsminda amusement park. We played a few arcade games but if you have other kids this place would be fantastic. Its a 20 min taxi ride up through the hills and the view of the city from the top is just incredible.

We did miss a lot of the city but will have lots of time to do more when we go back!

On day 2 we went to the clinic to create the embryos. Its funny, the hospitals are much like the buildings, they are seriously lacking curb appeal but inside they are much like any other. New Life partner with Beta Plus. Most of the staff spoke completely fluent English and were so friendly and efficient. As I waited in the waiting room, I felt the pain and apprehension of everyone else around me. The atmosphere was like something I had never experienced before. People were there for different reasons, at different times in their journey and so there was some with smiles who were getting scan results, some men who were anxiously awaiting news of their partner to come out of sedation and other couples just waiting for the unknown. I felt alone and scared. I was the only IM sitting alone. Rick wasn’t gone for long but it felt like forever. I cry now just thinking about it.

The enormity of what we were doing hit me like a brick in that moment. I remember feeling like we had reached a destination, or arrived somewhere whilst simultaneously feeling it was the only the start of something huge, a brand new day. And all of this, whilst sitting on a round pouff in a shiny waiting room.

The next day was one of the biggest days of my life. We went to New Life and met our surrogate. We spent the first hour with Eka who was wonderful. I trusted them already but after that, I trusted her more, I trusted that she wanted this FOR us. I felt that we were a team.

She then introduced us to our surrogate, she was there as our surrogate does not speak English. It was the most emotional moment of my life. I cried and everyone in the room cried. I imagined a nice but brief conversation, just meeting her face to face and making that connection and beginning that journey together. I expected nothing more and nothing less. But it was the most emotionally charged situation I had ever experienced. I went to speak and I just shook. this made it real. This was now a reality. She would now be carrying our baby for us, she was doing this for us. We were trusting this lady with the most precious thing in our lives. I cannot put into words how I felt because I still can’t get my head around it.

I had planned in my head everything we would say, questions we would ask her but they just went our of my head. It also didn’t seem the time or place. When I stopped shaking and was able to speak I explained our journey. I remember telling her I used to be a teacher and all I ever imagined doing was being a mum and having a family and thanks to her, my dreams were coming through and profusely thanking her. (I am SOBBING right now writing this) I wanted her to know she was making a difference, she was changing our lives and we were so grateful to her. We brought her and her sons some small gifts but I wanted her to know, from the bottom of my heart, how much she was appreciated. She showed us pictures of her family and it was just a lovely conversation. We had bought Belly Buds and an MP3 player and spent the last few months adding songs, recording songs, recording stories and actually forgot to bring it but we told her about it and that we would send it. She loved the idea just as much as we did.

When we left it was still early morning and we had to go to the notaries office. It was the strangest experience we probably had in Tbilisi. The notaries office was two rooms on a floor of many room within a huge building. We walked in and there was about 20 locals in the main office. We were taken next door to the translator. She was exceptional. She was expecting us, had our documents translated and prepared and was accustomed to working with UK couples and with New Life. In an environment so out of our comfort zone this was just what we needed. Essentially, all we needed to do was review the Power of Attorney, confirm our passport details and sign the English and Georgian versions.

After that, we were taken into the notaries office next door. When she saw by my passport I was Irish she asked me about our female patron saint St, Brigid. I didn’t think anyone outside of Ireland knew about her but from her! It was lovely to be asked about something when travelling abroad other than Guinness.

We spent the rest of the day just exploring. We went to Vera Park, Vake park, down the Rustavelli, walked through Vake to get a feel for the area. We dropped into pharmacies, supermarkets, Carrefour to see what was stocked locally. I think this gives you an idea of what you will be eating, what you need to bring or don’t bring when you come to stay and can put your mind at ease. In my opinion, the Carrefour stocked what it does in any other European country.

In regards to baby food, it is stocked in pharmacies rather than stores. The most popular ones are HIPP Organic and Nutrilon which is Aptamil under a different name. There is also a Mothercare store in Tbilisi, we didn’t get a chance to go there but they do stock Tommee Tippee, travel cots and most things you would get over here, possibly just not the same choice.

We didn’t know what to expect from Tbilisi but it’s a beautiful city, with tons to do and we were not just excited to come back and meet our son or daughter but also to explore more of this part of the world.

--

--