1990

Kaascat - Chrysa Chouliara
SURVIVING THE 8Os
Published in
3 min readSep 11, 2019

At the beginning of every school year, I read our new history book from cover to cover, with special interest to the faded images that accompanied the text. And that was the last time in the year that I would look at it. No matter where you’re from, history is a depressing subject. People from all over the world were involved in one war or another and on top of that, I had to memorize the dates of those dreadful events. Even in the eyes of an eight-year-old, all those wars and atrocities seemed to happen in vain.

To counter history I found an antidote in fiction. But unlike my peers, I was always fascinated by “difficult” books with as many pages as possible. I was a fast reader too and had been looking forward to finding a big book for a long time. Unfortunately, a pleasant, children’s book like ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’ didn’t fall into my hands. It would have been a welcome distraction from my gloomy history book.

Instead, I got Victor Hugo’s ‘Les Misérables’ from my mother’s childless uncle. For some mysterious reason the man bought us a lot of presents but without ever thinking of details such as the appropriate age group. The book was big and heavy and had a black leather cover that intrigued me.

I read it frantically. I used a flashlight and read all through the night under my blankets for three horrid days in a row. I went to school sleep deprived, hiding the book in my bag and trying to read. I concealed the book under my desk and sometimes tried to disguise it as my history book. Unsuccessfully, I might add. My teacher confiscated ‘Les Miserables,’ for the day and after he made sure I was not reading a “dirty book”, he promptly returned it. The next day I played sick so I could stay in bed all day and finish reading it.

After four nights of almost no sleep, I really did look bad so convincing my parents to let me stay in bed was easy. Finally, tucked under the blankets and occasionally sipping black tea, I read every word. And what good had come of it? Nothing. I was depressed. It couldn’t be so. I did not want to believe that all the bad stuff happened in vain and so many good people died and all the awful people were still alive. I cried bitterly for all the tormented protagonists but to no avail!

I needed hope, something to reconstruct my childish world and my belief in the happily ever after. So after sobbing for a good fifteen minutes, I rushed to the kitchen. My mum would make it right. Without a moment’s hesitation, I stared into her eyes and asked: “Mum, are we living in an awful, unjust society?” After a long pause, she replied, “Yes but I was hoping you wouldn’t find out this soon.”

If, and only if, my nine year old self had a chance to rewrite “Les Misérables”, the awful Thénardiers would be devoured by crocodiles in the last chapter of the book.

So long as there shall exist, by reason of law and custom, a social condemnation, which, in the face of civilization, artificially creates hells on earth, and complicates a destiny that is divine with human fatality; so long as the three problems of the age — the degradation of man by poverty, the ruin of women by starvation, and the dwarfing of childhood by physical and spiritual night — are not solved; so long as, in certain regions, social asphyxia shall be possible; in other words, and from a yet more extended point of view, so long as ignorance and misery remain on earth, books like this cannot be useless.

VICTOR HUGO (on the preface of “Les Misérables”)

--

--

Kaascat - Chrysa Chouliara
SURVIVING THE 8Os

Kaascat is the alias of Chrysa Chouliara, illustrator, writer and sculptor from Greece currently living and working​ ​in Switzerland. https://kaascat.ch/