Just a Note on Open and Close Offices

open and close office plans, Which should we choose?

Amir All
Sustainable Architecture
2 min readFeb 8, 2014

--

I just had a workchat hosted by Pam Davis. In these chats we talk about work and group related problems and challenges once a week. I always find new information useful for me.And I just found new information on how an office should be organized. But I cannot find my journal. So I'm going to document these information here. Office environment is a really important topic. If an employee feels unsafe in office environment, his/her productivity can decrease dramatically. There are things needed to notice:

  • First of all, Open office format, is a highly collaborative-enabled design. In a social perspective, It can even increase the speed of work by easing the team's collaboration process.
  • Open office has the disadvantage of distraction and the obvious problem for introvert users.
  • Although closed format may seem more safe in theory, In some cases, it can make things worse by making the physical presence of others more noticeable which as mentioned: "A lot more stressful".
  • An Instant Message software maybe part of the solution for this problem.
  • Too much isolation (E. working at home) can be a little too frustrating.

I think the solution for these problems relies on a mixed design, using open and close format so that depending on the situation and user, It's flexible for the employee to personalize or choose their environment. I don't have any further taught on this topic. But it worth expanding my experience, spending some time on this problem. It can help the sustainability of the workspace and the employees energy hugely.

--

--