Introducing Elena

Elena Chen
Sustainable Germany
1 min readFeb 6, 2023

Introducing Elena

Hi everyone, this is Elena Chen. I’m a senior Econ major and Japanese Studies minor. I am an international student from China.

I’m taking this class because the I’m really interested in topics about sustainability. I’ve done summer research about circular economy last summer, and I realized that Germany was such a good leader of sustainability. This class would help me dive deeper into how Germany became the leader with its unique and advanced policies.

As for in-country activities, I am most excited to visit Mercedes Benz. Car industries now are moving to a sustainable directions now, and Mercedes Benz does have EVs. I wonder how they carry their corporate responsibility regarding the global environment problems.

And lastly, one question I have is: should one country choose to develop economy first without the consideration of environment? Or should one country always consider about the environment as it develops its economy?

--

--