Introducing Max

Max Eichenmuller
Sustainable Germany
2 min readFeb 9, 2023

Hi. My name is Max Eichenmuller. I am a junior DWA major at Occidental College and currently live in Humboldt County, CA. I am interested in politics, enjoy playing guitar and fishing and make music digitally.

My interests in international politics and economics motivated me to take this course. I am interested in learning how Germany has successfully adapted to climate change and has become a world leader in development. As the climate crisis looms ahead, other countries and international organizations can hopefully learn from the successes and failures of green energy and sustainable development in Germany.

Having lived in the forest for a decent portion of my life, I feel somewhat attached to the environment that surrounds me. I am lucky enough to live in a small community that is interested in sustainable development and have benefited from some of its possible solutions. I am interested in studying environmental sustainability to learn how Germany has been able to widely implement environmental policies and what the USA can possibly learn from these policies.

I am really excited to see the Black Forest as I have heard about this location my entire life. I think traveling around via train and seeing most of Germany’s geography will be enlightening as well.

One question that has been on my mind is how drastically will our modern way of life have to change in order to truly achieve sustainable development and green energy globally? If that answer is, a lot, then how can we start preparing for such a transition?

--

--