Introducing Tye

Tye Hernandez
Sustainable Germany
2 min readFeb 1, 2023

Hi everyone! My name is Tye Hernandez, and I am a senior economics and politics major from Orange County, CA. During my undergraduate experience at Occidental, I have been widely involved in the campus community with Oxy Athletics, Justice Equity Diversity and Inclusion Committee, Student Leadership Involvement Community Engagement (SLICE), Economics Teaching Assistant, Tour Guide, and more. My involvement at Occidental College has enriched my undergraduate experience tenfold, but it gifted me with a revelation of how much I value spaces that center equality, respect, and dignity.

Through engaging in the Oxy community and through my course work, I have learned the value of community from both a figurative and a literal sense. I have been particularly drawn to the value of place and how space can impact the daily lives, health, and economic outcomes of folks. Learning more about what makes a functional city and asking deeper questions about why an environment looks the way it does is something I plan on doing during this trip. The ability to use Germany, a leader in sustainable development and urban planning, as a case study to see new perspectives on environmentally friendly ways to live will be truly remarkable.

One aspect about this course that is especially exciting to me is the intersection between politics and economics. I am eager to learn more about the different political parties in Germany and how they engage with sustainability efforts. Furthermore, I am looking forward to delving into how Germany centers intersectional justice, social cohesion, and intergenerational responsibility as guiding principles as medium and long-term targets. Could there be strategies that would work here in the United States? If not, why is that?

I look forward to asking these nuanced questions and challenging assumptions I may have around sustainability, but also immersing myself in German culture in Berlin and beyond! I hope to enjoy some cool art exhibits, theater performances, and different sporting events along the way. I am so humbled by the opportunity to study abroad with this talented cohort of individuals and Professor Wong leading the way. Bis Bald!

- Tye Hernandez

--

--