Be Sharing, Not Selfish

Sanem Tekkaya
SUSTALKS
Published in
3 min readMar 10, 2021

Have you at any point felt like you can’t eat adequate food and meet the necessary nourishments? Have you at any point felt hunger? Not for a critical day, but for a period of time…

Two days prior, I saw an old woman wearing flimsy garments when it was freezing cold. She was not wearing shoes, but slippers when I had boots on.

I saw her strolling in a hurry and figured she may be going some place significant. I really wanted to have the chance to offer her my help; however for I was going to school, I had no money with me.

Roughly five minutes after, she passed me by again and as I smiled at her, she attempted to talk with me. Honestly, I didn’t completely comprehend what she was saying, however I heard something certain.

” I am hungry, but I have no money.”

I realized I had no money with me once again and it hurt me. I didn’t know what to say back yet continued smiling.

I recognized the sadness and hunger in her eyes. At that point I considered a certain something; the fact of the matter isn’t generally to give money. The fact is being “human enough” to share what we have.

As she began to walk again and disappear, I recalled that I was conveying a chocolate and chocolate milk with me inside my backpack. It was not a hard decision for me to make since I realized she required them more than I do.

As I fastened my steps towards her, she heard me calling her prior to crossing the street.

With a sincere smile on my face, I offered them to her. For a while, she could not understand, however then smiled back and said “I have been heard. I have been seen. Thank you.”

Besides, what is so interesting about this moment is she attempted to offer something back to me. She wanted to have something to share with me as well.

  • Image by Avinash Kumar on Unsplash

She looked through her pockets in a hurry and continued revealing to me that she needs to give something back to me or she was unable to accept my offer.

I revealed to her that I have more and I wanted to share those with her. The smile on her face spread and I had the option to see the splendid light that making her eyes sparkle.

Ending hunger is not just about Zero Hunger, it is likewise associated with ending poverty. When addressing a sustainable development goal , we are addressing more than one.

Having the option to get the fundamental supplements has likewise the ability to keep our bodies warm and our minds calm.

We might not end hunger immediately, however we actually have the opportunity to make a positive difference for somebody.

Keeping in mind that when we waste food, methane and carbon dioxide emissions lead us to climate change. Ending hunger is likewise helpful for sustaining our natural resources.

Zero Hunger is a great step for accomplishing numerous different goals.

We can shop keen and store effectively.

Be sharing, not selfish.

--

--