YMA gets inked

Suzanne Baines
Suzanne Baines
Published in
4 min readJun 3, 2018

“Mum, we’ve been thinking about getting our first tattoo. And, we have decided that we want to get your ‘You Matter Always’ logo.

Now, for those who don’t know me, I am not normally lost for words. However, there is a first for everything! My gorgeous daughters had spoken about getting a tattoo for years. They ranged from dreamcatchers, mandalas, elephants, stars

and butterflies to creating their own. I never, for one minute, considered that they would want to get my little purple heart YMA ribbon logo (which I decided to create with the hope of possibly developing a You Matter Always badge one day). I never imagined it being permanently inked on anyone (especially my darling daughters!).

My reply was along the lines of “girls, I am truly humbled that you believe in my vision for YMA, but what if it doesn’t come to fruition?” “It will though mum” was the assured response. I reiterated how permanent a tattoo is (given that I had 6 of them). “I think we know that mum! But, we also know why you created You Matter Always and why you think that everyone needs to know how important they are and how much their, thoughts, feelings, voice, story and life matters. We also know how much you love us and how much we matter to you. And, that is permanent.” So, this is just a visual reminder of how much we matter…always.”

Before long the three of us were sitting in the tattoo studio arguing over who was going first (because I couldn’t let my gorgeous daughter’s get inked with YMA and not join them, could I? After all, I matter…always!) Of course, I was strongly encouraged to go first. So, I clambered on to the chair and took a deep breath. I knew that getting a tattoo could sting a little and contain some teeth clenching moments. But, I was also aware that the discomfort passes very quickly. Within 40 minutes I was done and dusted. In 40 minutes, I had a visual reminder that I too matter always, and more fabulous and heart-warming memories with my darling daughters. Funny how momentous a number can become? For over 40 years, I struggled to see my own worth and feel good enough. I could recognise and encourage the strengths, abilities and potential in others, but felt sightless when it came to me. And yet, in 40 minutes, I felt an incredible sense of pride, achievement, possibility and unconditional love. As the saying goes, “life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the number of moments that take our breath away.”

Meg went next. She propped herself up in the chair and prepared for the needle coming down. I gazed at my gorgeous girl with a sense of pride, but worry also. I know that she is an adult who is more than capable of making her own decisions. I appreciate also that it is her body and she can get it inked if she wishes. Nonetheless, she will always be my little girl who doesn’t need a tattoo to know how much she matters to me. However, it was her decision and she appeared happy with the result. There were a few ouches, a bit of teeth grinding and then a “that wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.” Two down one to go!

Before long it was Lou’s turn. I felt the same sense of pride and worry with my baby girl as I did with Meg. Again, she is an adult who can make her own decisions and choices about her needs and wants. However, like her sister, she is my little girl who doesn’t need a tattoo to know how much she matters to me. Nevertheless, she was happy with her decision and shuffled her way along the chair. Verbally, Lou was the bravest of the three of us. However practically, she was the one making the most noise. There were lots of ouches, deep breaths, gritted teeth, frowning and a “never again!” Yet, a couple of hours later she was already planning her next one!

Meg and Lou will always be the best thing that ever happened to me. I couldn’t be prouder of the young women that they have become (with or without the tattoo). They’re my world. Nevertheless, they are also young independent women who are carving their own paths in life. One which respectfully entailed getting a You Matter Always tattoo. So, as they carry on through their own path in life, I will continue to do my upmost to get You Matter Always in to the public domain. 😊

--

--

Suzanne Baines
Suzanne Baines

Mental/Mind Health ambassador, innovator and advocate. Creator of the You Matter Always Mental/Mind Health and Wellbeing initiative. Leads with kindness xxx