What does self-discovery mean to you?

Purnam
Swadharma Auroville
5 min readJul 30, 2020

45 voices from the Swadharma community on what self-discovery means to them. Read perspectives from diverse individuals at different points in their journey.

I always had the feeling that if I can understand myself then I can explain myself but then when I really do understand myself I don’t even have to explain. :)

Self-discovery to me means that I am fully aware and confident of who I am as a person and what my gifts are.

Listening to one’s inner voice and following along.

It’s like a hike on a misty mountain, you meet co-travelers, some you develop a great bond with, that’s your tribe, sometimes you’re on your own, sometimes it’s poor visibility and you question your faith, some days are cold, rainy, other days it’s bright and beautiful, warm and comfortable. But as you journey, along the way you discover something that’s a constant behind, an essence, unchangeable, your effortless natural unique, that’s your essence, an effortless state of being in the midst of life where peace and purpose emanate naturally from you.

Having an authentic relationship with yourself, being aware of who you are, what you believe in, what you like, and accepting yourself for all this and breaking your own individual barriers which will in turn help you have a larger impact on the world.

Understanding what I want in the long run, what makes me happy from within.

For me, it's about knowing myself inside out, be it my emotions, my nature, my values, my boundaries, and my personality.

I think on the most profound level, self-discovery means realising the divinity which exists within you — which is you — and all other beings as well.

Self-discovery is mainly about knowing what is actually going on in my mind and addressing it. I often struggle with that, but as I try to be honest with myself, I tend to know myself better every day.

Self-discovery to me means to be conscious and aware of your feelings and thoughts and where they originate from. It means being able to understand your body, mind, heart, and soul.

Knowing the reason why you are on this planet.

Finding what makes you happy.

I look at in two layers:
1. Who am I as a person- what are my likes, strengths, weaknesses and how can I contribute the most?
2. Why do I even exist? Why is there anything and not nothing? Why are we conscious? What is the true nature of reality?

Explore one’s potential thoroughly, keeping the strengths (and weaknesses) in mind.

Being at peace with who I am. Making sure I don’t dislike myself for my shadows. Also, to know how to make sure that my shadows aren’t overpowering in any relationship.

For me, it means exploring the spectrum inside you from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows and treating both with balance and kindness.

To dig deeper into the iceberg of the mind and uncover the automatic patterns that I’m operating out of. To discover, explore, and work on such limiting and unhealthy patterns and to just shed light on the areas that have been in the dark for a long time. To just get the conscious mind to hold the torch and shed light on the subconscious mind is what self-discovery means to me.

Self-discovery to me is knowing about the purpose of our existence and knowing who I am?

Knowing my own feelings, dreams, goals, traits, and accepting them. Doing practices that can help me come closer to my purpose and values.

Self-discovery means finding and unlocking my true infinite creative potential and knowing who I really am. Realizing my divine nature and moving into a place where each day is a joy, an adventure to live and explore all aspects of life, with beauty being the guiding force.

To understand what one must do with their life.

Understanding your deepest values, desires, and direction coming from within — and then following it.

To be in touch with your inner self as you go about building and unraveling a conscious life…

Moving through one’s self needs instead of fear

Figuring out yourself and knowing every bit of your soul and heart and mind.

The meaning is evolving but I think it has a lot more to do with knowing oneself, the values, and the skills we have and trusting in them than knowing that one purpose of one’s life. I am starting to believe that the purpose changes but our values, skills, and experiences stay and allow us to fulfill the current purpose.

So many questions, Sid!
Intimacy with the Divine,
Becoming empty to let the force of life flow through you.

Unsure, but it is always fun

Understanding the way your mind and body functions, at what pace, at what decibel level, under what light conditions, with what kind of company. Allowing yourself to spend your time the way you want to. Finding the things that bring you peace and making them a part of your everyday life. Most importantly, not getting mad at yourself for any reason.

It’s a perspective with which I see
My life. It’s an ongoing process,
I keep on discovering and losing myself,
it’s a loop until my last breath.

For me, self-discovery is to figure out what is my purpose and what are my natural traits and how I can live in accordance with those traits. And on a deeper level, it's finding my true identity which I have glimpses of.

Life is a puzzle, I am a piece of that puzzle, just need to find the place where I fit.

Knowing what you need (not want!) and more importantly, knowing the actions that need to be taken.

Being conscious of my thoughts and actions.

Perfection of the inner and outer.

To be aware of the flaws, shortcomings along with strengths and values, accept them in order to grow as a person with each and every conscious moment.

I don’t know.

That there is no me; surrender to unfolding.

It is the process of polishing yourself and looking at what shines the brightest.

Connecting to this flowing moment, realising that nothing is permanent and love is the answer to everything.

Understanding who we are and what we are made of (our values, inclinations, sensibilities) and our purpose. Once that becomes apparent, everything else falls into place and we are automatically able to give without having to think about it consciously.

It means experiencing the truth of what I am, the infinite energy that I am. Likewise, it’s about understanding the nuances of how that energy flows through my “self” in its individuated way.

Self-discovery to me is revelations on what I really want. Self-discovery is being sure of myself, in whatever I choose to do, pursue, speak, and engage with.

A deeper understanding of myself: motivations, mental frameworks, emotional triggers, etc

Something that is very important to take the next step properly every time.

What does self-discovery mean to you? Let us know in the comments.

--

--

Purnam
Swadharma Auroville

Transformative Educational Programmes from Auroville to the World