Evigt Mörker - 1

S.W.A.M 404
SWAM404
Published in
2 min readJun 13, 2017

--

Sweden now, or so it says. This came out in 2014 and while I will mention other genres, this is a solid slice of ambient techno.

It takes some fair confidence to open with the best track on the release.

Not that the others are lacking. Just there is a timeless dream quality to the opener, ‘Högre’.

‘Gud’ is safe and bouncy with distinct elements of people like ‘Ship of Fools’ and FSOL.

‘Kilsbergen’ the third track missteps me for a moment as I momentarily think I am going to be in for some strange Studio 1 frolics.

And I kind of am.

Except in that weird melodic dream tech-pop way.

They always seem to be playing this sort of music at rich people parties and I never understand.

That said, I would like my music played at rich people parties. Although the downsides might be rumours of not getting paid and I also hear they have the best stay out of prison ratio for murdering sex workers.

Okay, maybe not rich people parties.

There’s moments where it sounds like someone has managed to compress Orbital as if it was sandwich meat, or well the radio playing Orbital, into compressed meat, that is. And they have somehow hidden it about the track to turn on at various points.

‘Huldra’ is a seductive Scandinavian spirit. Hard to know where to place that in the current climate.

This vies with ‘Hog’ or ‘Pig’ as the first one was titled. Sometimes it is better not to translate the names.

Overall, an enjoyable release. Melodic ambient techno perhaps kept only out of Dub by BPM.

Worth a listen.

--

--