Lake Haze - Natural Insight

S.W.A.M 404
SWAM404
Published in
2 min readMay 3, 2016

Following on like the logical evolution of Vangelis, acid, Aphex and synth pop science fiction soundtracks to films that don’t exist.

This three track opens with a bit of doom house? acid doom house? Doom Acid?

I feel as if Southern Gothic had managed to reach a time where they were building immediately decaying space ports on the edge of the plantations. This is the sort of music those films would have.

Somewhere out there, there’s an epic Charles Band film that lost the track that made it good.

Really, “Solar Flames” is worth the price of admission alone.

At first, “Unknown Location” did not do much for me. The sounds are a little overused and retro, but then, it is hard to get a song to feel this old. The production is good. I’m just a little a bored with those sounds. It is slowly growing on me though.

Creme Organizations handy (and concise, thanks) Soundcloud bio for the release tells me that Lake Haze, Gonçalo Salgado, hails from Portugal and this comes a year after his debut on Dutch label IVVVO and that he also releases under this alias, his own name and Chainless.

I would tell you a bit about the incredibly interesting Crème Organization and the “Hague Sound”, but, thankfully Resident Advisor have me covered and if you have some time to spare while listening to all this. You should go check out this Resident Advisor article on Crème Organization

The three tracks are available for €4 or €1.60 per track.

If anything, the three track is hampered by the hard to match quality of its opening track. Which is smart moving, getting it out there first, because “Geisterbahnhofe” is a hidden gem of a track that might suffer some neglect against the opener. This track captures the end of the ’70s and 80s Eurocinema incredibly well and I feel like I should be going to meet Christopher Lambert somewhere to buy brick sized microchips or something in a briefcase in a disused theatre. Except bad things will happen when I’m being driven there by my opera singing black leather clad motorcycle girlfriend. This won’t be helped by the fact I’ll spend half the film rattling out from heroin and you, wondering how the suit never gets dirty.

Lake Haze — Natural Insight on Bandcamp

--

--