Emotional Pain Is Not a Shortcoming

Mags Thomson (she/her)
SwanWaters
Published in
2 min readJan 22, 2021

--

Do you get those days? When you are feeling down in the dumps, tired, triggered, beating up on yourself… and then you say: you are such a weakling for letting this get to me!

Hey, I hear you! I have been at this healing thing for a few years now, and I still get the odd day like that. Wondering why I cannot just get over it, switch it off, move on, let go… And that is the thing. We are constantly bombarded with society’s demand of switching off, moving on and letting go. There really isn’t time or space for emotional and spiritual pain or healing in our fast-paced, go-getting, 24/7, high-performance, perfect efficiency type world. It is bad enough that you needed sick leave to deal with the flue, but now you are telling me you have PTSD? I can’t see anything wrong with you, therefore you must be exaggerating or worse; making it up!

Let me reassure you: Emotional pain is not a shortcoming!

In the words of R.E.M.: Everybody Hurts (Sometimes). We just happen to live in a society of instant fixes and constant pressure to function at peak efficiency.

Feel a cold coming on? Take some pills.

Don’t like the look of your skin? Hide it under this layer of make-up.

--

--

Mags Thomson (she/her)
SwanWaters

Capturing Case-Studies and Testimonials for Coaches and Service-Based Entrepreneurs