So, You Had a Meltdown? So What?

Mags Thomson (she/her)
SwanWaters
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2018

Sometimes we have a bit of a meltdown. It can be something ordinary that just sends us over the edge. I vividly remember a time where I needed to get my washing out of the machine. There was a sheet in it, and all my washing had tangled into this one big ball of wet laundry, which I couldn’t get out. I just fell to the floor in front of the machine and wept. I felt like an utter failure.

Now, I understand that that’s a bit of an overly dramatic response. But this is the point. Sometimes stuff happens, and it completely overwhelms us.

Here’s the thing you should remember: you are not a failure.

What it means is that you are tired, or you’re having a bad day. Maybe it was just the 10th stupid thing that happened that day. Maybe it’s your hormones, the moon or the weather. There are 100 different reasons why sometimes really normal, mundane things trigger us and send us into a frenzy.

And you know what? It’s totally allowed. Welcome to the human race.

Everybody gets that. Sure, survivors of abuse maybe get it a little bit more often or get it a little bit more extreme. But I don’t believe that anyone, any human being, doesn’t from time to time have a meltdown.

Take a deep breath. Call a friend. Have a cup of tea. Rest a little. Have something to eat, maybe you just have low blood sugar. Do some self-care to get yourself out of that funk.

Originally published at swanwaters.com on February 17, 2018.

--

--

Mags Thomson (she/her)
SwanWaters

Capturing Case-Studies and Testimonials for Coaches and Service-Based Entrepreneurs