Having Multiple Identities

After 20 years, I’ve finally figured out how to balance work and creativity.

Lindsay Zhou
SWE Tea

--

When I was in high school, I was a part of my high school’s marching band. More specifically, I was a member of the front ensemble, also known as the pit, which is a subsection of the percussion. My freshman year, I cycled between a few different instruments. Then, in my sophomore year, I gained a salient status as our section’s center marimba, the lead mallet player.

That was my identity.

My life revolved around band for my four years in high school. We had practices between nine and thirty hours a week. If I’m being honest, I don’t remember much about what classes were like in high school, but I could rattle on about band memories for hours.

It goes without saying, but high school eventually came to an end, and then I was on to college. That’s when tech took over my life.

I wasn’t even one of the computer science majors who loved tech going into college. In fact, I didn’t know a thing about it. But man, was it easy to fall down that rabbit hole. Outside of my classes, I buried myself in computer science clubs. Eventually, I took on additional responsibilities as an undergraduate teaching assistant in the computer science department. Recruiting also became a huge part…

--

--

Lindsay Zhou
SWE Tea

Tech enthusiast. Hobbyist writer. Linguistics buff. Building tech, art, and worlds from nothing but air and ideas. (Ok, and a laptop.) She/they.