7 Reasons why I don’t like Cocoapods

Shahrukh Alam
Swift2Go
Published in
1 min readJan 22, 2021

We all love & use Cocoapods extensively as a Dependency Manager. But, have we taken a step back in introspect if it’s true love or a compromise like any other relationships.

In this blog, I would give 7 reasons why I have reached a space where I don’t like Cocoapods anymore. To be clear I have nothing against Cocoapods, they have done great work on making iOS Developer's life easy for a decade. Also, it’s not just about Cocoapods, I feel the points I would highlight is true for any Dependency Manager.

1. Infinity Mirror

Like any Developer, I would love to have 100% focus on my Development, but there are situations with Cocoapods which don’t let me do that. Instead, I have to fix some build issues which are sometimes sporadic & out of context.

this article has been moved here 😍

--

--