Sample 1:1 docs for ICs and Managers

Stephanie Williams
swill’s tech leadership essentials
1 min readJun 26, 2017

Before my first 1:1 with a new direct, I create a google form with accompanying ‘response sheet’ and send it to the direct with the following note:

Welcome to your 1:1 doc! Please review this doc and send me any questions prior to our first meeting on $DATE. You own the content of our meeting, but these questions will steer us toward the topics we won’t have opportunity to discuss otherwise. Please take these meetings seriously. Fill out the doc at least 24 hours in advance, and I will commit to reviewing it and tracking down any answers as best as possible before we meet.

sample 1:1 doc for ICs

sample 1:1 doc for managers

sample response spreadsheet

I triple-check the permissions on both the form and spreadsheet to ensure I’ve only shared it with my direct, and make sure my direct can edit the form responses after the fact in case they’d rather do it as they think of points to add (but not the accompanying spreadsheet, as those aren’t timestamped unless you muck through the history).

--

--

Stephanie Williams
swill’s tech leadership essentials

Former Amazon, FB, TWTR, ATVI, Dropbox. Recovering stressaholic, loving retirement.