Fountain Pen Fun

Vintage yet contemporary tool to create heritage documents

Aikya Param
5 min readMay 5, 2021

--

Photoof fountainpen with iridium nib by Petar Milošević, CC on Wikimedia Commons

Was it five years ago that I fell in love with fountain pens? I brought several friends along. My boss, my spiritual advisor, and several sketching buddies could swap their latest pen discoveries and join me at pen conferences near home.

I first used a fountain pen in grammar school. We were required to write everything in pen and ballpoint pens were forbidden.

In my early thirties, I went to a church summer camp. Fred Eager, the author of The Italic Way to Beautiful Handwriting, Cursive, and Calligraphic, taught us the Italic alphabet basics. Was it an Osmiroid fountain pen set with six nibs I bought to take his class? Or maybe Platignum Italic Set with changeable nibs.

My starter pens

Although my father was a commercial artist, and our home always had art materials in it, none were fountain pens. I had stopped making art regularly and felt something missing in my life. To jump back in, I took the first online classes offered by Danny Gregory, founder of Sketchbook Skool. A fountain pen was required equipment.

--

--

Aikya Param

Rev. Aikya Param is a minister at Oakland Center for Spiritual Living in Oakland, California, a published author and visual artist.