Get Real: What Difference Does It Make

My freedom or humility and trust

Aikya Param
3 min readMay 1, 2021

--

Image by Wilhan José Gomes wjgomes from Pixabay

Ruben Mata, a fitness trainer, and motivational speaker, did not believe COVID-19 much less the pandemic was real, until he fell ill, spent five days in a medically-induced coma with only a 40% chance to survive.

“Before I contracted it, I thought, ‘It’s just made up’,” Mata told NBC News “Global Hangout” this week, adding that he figured his six-day-a-week gym habit and healthy eating regimen would spare him even if it did exist. “That’s what prevented me from getting help sooner when it went really bad.”

Is independence really what we think?

For many years, I saw that American’s ideal for independence misled us. I can easily see my dependence on people from farmworkers in California’s Central Valley, my landlord, traffic laws and enforcement, and more. With COVID-19, our mistaken idea of independence is killing us.

I believe what Dr. Anthony Fauci, Director of the National Institue of Allergy and Infectious Disease, tells us. I wear my mask and stay 6 feet or more from others, not in my household. For me, science is reliable. We can trust what science says in day-to-day life. Many people do not trust science when it comes to coronavirus because it requires behavior change, and they feel that…

--

--

Aikya Param

Rev. Aikya Param is a minister at Oakland Center for Spiritual Living in Oakland, California, a published author and visual artist.