Aaron Harvey

Making real change

An interview with Aaron Harvey from Made of Millions

andy.walton
Published in
4 min readNov 30, 2018

--

We have seen a growing movement towards a more open and real conversation about mental health. I love hearing about new projects that are working to create this shift by helping to weave the subject into our everyday culture. Inspiring movements demonstrating genuine compassion with a display of creativity, energy and drive. That is why I was delighted to have the opportunity to catch up with one of the founding members of Made of Millions, Mr Aaron Harvey.

Made of Millions is a grassroots mental health advocacy platform made by sufferers, for sufferers. Launched in October 2018, they use art and technology to empower community-level change.

I am a big admirer of the project. I believe such raw and honest narrative creates change. I am motivated by this. I am motivated by those who know a better world is possible, and fight for that. People who are thriving despite ongoing mental health issues. Those bravely speaking out and using language that goes to the heart because it’s from the heart. Inspiring the notion that we are all in this together.

Let’s hear from Aaron….

What was the turning point to how you viewed mental health?

Great question. I’ve taken a couple of turns on it. Growing up, it was something you suppressed. And even when you’re suicidal, harming yourself, self medicating, you’re still suppressing the idea of being mentally ill. My turning point was having the courage to google “violent thoughts” before I continued my suicidal ideation any further. That changed everything. And for awhile, the structure of “you have this condition, here is your therapy, here are your drugs,” is really helpful. That said, I’ve learned how little we understand about the mind, how often the DSM changes, how prevalent misdiagnosis is. And that really represents my second turning point, where I recognize the critical importance that sufferers are in the driver’s seat of their own care.

How do you maintain balance?

I don’t really, I tend to live in extremes. Extreme volumes of work production. Extreme periods of depression. All over the place. That said, there are things that help me along the way — surfing, playing music and mindfulness. Anything that keeps me present, in the moment, even if just for a moment.

How do you deal with ‘what if’ and ‘should have’ thoughts if they play on your mind?

Before I knew I had OCD, I spent most of my waking hours contemplating “what if”. It’s exhausting. And really sad. But in the 4 years since, I found that I don’t spend much if any time on the “what if” surrounding my violent, sexual and bizarre intrusive thoughts. Where it is still a big challenge, however, is in regards to existential topics. Life, faith, relationships, self-worth. ERP doesn’t work as well for those types of themes, because you still do have a human desire, a healthy desire, to answer those questions, to play out those scenarios.

When you feel overwhelmed how do you cope?

Breathing. My first and only focus is breathing. Inhaling evenly for 4, holding for 7, and releasing evenly for 8 seconds. Repeat that 4x and it’s possible to reduce an onset panic or anxiety attack. Maybe by 20–30% of the intensity sometimes. With work, and the non profit, the volume of work is tremendously overwhelming. To manage it, I create long task lists then decide which of these have dependencies on other items and which are absolutely critical today. Putting tasks into “themes” really helps me focus on what matters most to move the needle on the non-profit or the business.

When was the last time you got involved in a new hobby? What was it and how did it benefit your wellbeing?

Office pingpong has been an incredible release throughout the work day. Practicing Spanish online is another good way to stay present. Even video games (I can’t stop playing Rocket league and I need to).

How do you find inspiration?

I wasted 20 years of my life on self-harm, panic attacks, anxiety, depression. If I had been reached effectively when I was a kid, I could have had a better life. And I’m a white male living in America. I have a loving family. I am educated. Thus, I am the definition of privilege in today’s society, yet, I was still missed in this process. Can you imagine how impossibly unfair it is for persons of lesser privilege? That’s my inspiration.

Find out more about the project at www.madeofmillions.com

--

--

andy.walton

Staff Psychological Wellbeing Advisor at The North East Ambulance Service.