Meet Amber Chook: Head of PR & Marketing at SwissBorg Japan

Cyborg @SwissBorg
SwissBorg DAO
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2018

Meet the SwissBorg Japan Team

At the age of 15, I moved from my hometown of Harbin, China, to Mie, Japan, knowing no Japanese language or culture. I was placed into a high school that had low expectations for its graduates: not one had attended a formal university. Instead of following the standard path for women in the area, getting married and becoming a housewife, I pushed aside my high school responsibilities and independently studied English from scratch for 14 hours a day for two years. After eight attempts at the university-entrance English test, I became the first student from my high school who was accepted to a formal university.

During my junior year of college, I founded TEDxRoppongi with the mission of encouraging social innovation by creating a platform for thinkers and innovators in Japan. Through designing TED-like experiences, I found my passion for creating experiences that help people connect, communicate, and collaborate. I have, since, dedicated my efforts to create empowering experiences for global women’s initiatives, such as iamtheCODE: a movement to advance STEAMD education and create 1 million women and girls coders by 2030; Girls20: a program to cultivate a new generation of female leaders and increase female labor force participation worldwide; Womenwill: a Google initiative to create economic opportunity for women everywhere, and help transform ways of working to make workplace practices more inclusive.

“The future is already here — it’s just not evenly distributed.”

In blockchain technology, I see an opportunity for a more transparent and meritocratic future. The Fourth Industrial Revolution is here and already transforming the way we work, play, and live. As a tech enthusiast and a community builder, it’s absolutely exciting to leverage my skills to support SwissBorg in its mission to shape a new era of wealth management: evolving age-old models of finance into a distributed, transparent, and accessible-to-all system for creating wealth; building a community of trust and fairness, and bringing more people into the future of money and wealth management

--

--

Cyborg @SwissBorg
SwissBorg DAO

Posts from the SwissBorg team — Read more about SwissBorg on our blog : https://swissborg.com/blog