10,000 Ideas In Your Pocket

Notebooking… What is it and why do so many famous, successful people do it?

Sandy Peckinpah
The Startup
Published in
10 min readApr 8, 2019

--

Woman Writing Down Her Ideas 52196517 Dragon Images/licensed through Depositphotos.com

“The best way to predict the future is to invent it.” — Alan Kay, Ted Talker and American Computer Scientist.

Some of the greatest minds in history have used notebooks to record those thoughts that lie somewhere between reality and innovation. They discovered by writing these thoughts down, it was a place where creative ideas were recorded to start the budding process of an idea coming to life.

Many years ago, I began chronicling my own thoughts within the pages of a notebook. I had suffered the greatest loss a parent could imagine, the sudden death of my 16 year old son to bacterial meningitis.

On the outside I looked brave and strong. Within the secret pages of my notebook was the true story; the story of my incredible struggle to wake up in the morning, to go on with life, to be alive for my living children.

Through time, my notebook became so much more

It held the key to my survival, and ultimately my success. It helped me see the path to restore my broken life, not only by documenting my feelings, but inspiration from meditation, ideas from…

--

--

Sandy Peckinpah
The Startup

Write to be happy. Author, Blogger, Huffington Post, Thrive Global, on Medium since 2016. http://www.SandyPeckinpah.com