10 Lessons I Learned From 10 Years as a Remote Employee

I dropped out of college to work as a remote employee. Its been a decade and here are a few lessons I picked along the way.

Manish Shivanandhan
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJan 21, 2020

--

Its been ten years in tech for me. From writing simple websites for the neighborhood florist to building enterprise software for global financial organizations, it has been a rewarding journey, both intellectually and financially.

I’m proud to say that I’ve never worked from an office. Even though I have visited client offices for meetings, I’ve never spent an entire day in one.

I was lucky to be a remote engineer long before remote work culture took over. I have worked on interesting projects, helped hire other remote workers, and most importantly, built some great relationships with professionals all over the world.

If I had a chance to meet the 18-year-old developer with an obsession for learning and no clue about the corporate world, here are 10 things I would tell him.

Lesson 1: Give a Damn

The major challenge companies face while building a remote team is finding people who give a damn. As a remote employee working four timezones away, it’s easy to show up and do the bare minimum to get a paycheck.

--

--

Manish Shivanandhan
The Startup

Engineer / Product Manager. Writes about Artificial Intelligence, Cybersecurity and Product Management. More at manishmshiva.com