10 Signs You’ve Got a Stupid Idea

We all have them. Learn how to spot them on sight.

Jessica Wildfire
The Startup

--

Even geniuses have terrible ideas. They’re just good at spotting them. They know what a good ideal feels like.

A good idea makes you go hell yeah.

A good idea won’t usually make you rich or famous. It might not meet with a ton of praise. But you don’t regret it, either. It’s hard to know when you’ve got a truly stupid idea, and when you’re just doubting yourself.

Hard, but not impossible.

Recently, I spent 7 hours on a stupid idea. Then I made a fresh pot of coffee and stared out the kitchen window for a while. When I came back to my idea, I found myself whispering, “Holy shit… this is terrible.” So I deleted the whole thing and wrote this instead.

I’m coming off fresh from a stupid idea, with firsthand knowledge of what it feels like from start to finish:

You feel like it’s utterly brilliant

The idea feels like a masterpiece waiting to happen. You haven’t even started working on it, and yet you just know somehow. Yeah, right. When you catch yourself marveling at the light bulb above your head, it’s time to take a break. You’re not thinking clearly.

You’re obsessed with its…

--

--