20 Lessons Learned From My First iOS App in the App Store

A summary of what I’ve learned during the first year.

Paul Pela
The Startup

--

On November 18th, 2019, my first iOS app was accepted by the App Store reviewers to be available for download. To say the least, I was in heaven! I wanted to do that for years now. I’m someone who fell in love with the idea as soon as I checked out the first generation iPhone back in 2008.

It’s been a year now, so it’s time to look back and compare where I was then and where I’m now. A kind of postmortem.

I’ve certainly learned a few things over the year that I wished I have known earlier. And I believe that my lessons may be beneficial for you on your own journey.

If you’re reading this, chances are that you’re thinking about creating your own app. Should you go for it? I can tell you from a year’s perspective — it’s worth it. It’s a beautiful and possibly life-changing journey to take. And if I can make it easier for you by sharing my experience, that’s even better.

Before we start, here’s some background on the app itself:

Znicz Basket Pruszków app

--

--

Paul Pela
The Startup

Future dad, 9to5: tech support agent. I write about the User Experience of learning programming.