3 Harsh Truths Changed My Mindset When I Lost My Job

If you lost a job, here are the benefits you get.

Olha Bahaieva
The Startup
Published in
7 min readSep 5, 2021

--

women drinks a cup of coffee
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

One month ago, I lost one of my jobs. While I work on multiple projects, not each of them is for profit. It was my major income stream, and I lost it.

When first days after losing my major income stream began, I was worried that my other side projects wouldn’t be as profitable as they need to be. Thinking about paying my rent and utility bills were the only thoughts in my mind.

“People shouldn’t be afraid of losing their jobs for things that blindside them or are out of their control.”

Greg Ott in Forbes

Once I dedicated more time to my side projects on the backlog, I saw immediate results. There was no reason to panic anymore.

The big changes were coming. Today I realized that losing a job was the best thing that happened during my entire career.

You Realize Your Potential Only When You Lose a Job

When I worked in corporate work, I had a salary. It means that I was stable in my income. This is what gave me power and confidence in tomorrow’s day.

--

--

Olha Bahaieva
The Startup

Lead UX/UI Designer, Mentor, UXDC Founder • UX/UI Design • Get 100+ UX/UI design tools collection: https://olhabahaieva.ck.page/52893cef89