3 Questions to Ask Yourself When Picking What to Write Next

Phil Hurst
The Startup
Published in
5 min readAug 24, 2020

--

Photo by Emily Morter on Unsplash

Are you writing what you should be writing? I don’t know about you, but I’m always getting distracted by new and shiny projects. I remember days, weeks and even months when I’ve toiled away on various pieces of work that seemed great at the time, but didn’t help me get to my long term writing goals.

Working on the wrong thing takes your hard earned time and renders it pointless. I was fed up of falling into work that didn’t have any major benefit for me in the long run, so I decided to try and think more strategically about opportunities — which is where Mr Musk comes in.

Elon Musk is the basis of one of three questions that I use to help me prioritise and evaluate opportunities that come my way. You’ll notice that there are no yes/no questions below. Those questions are too easy to answer and become counter-productive. The last thing you want to do when planning things out is to come up with an easy answer as this leads to a dismissal of the question.

What would Elon Musk do with this idea?

So I don’t know Elon Musk. I don’t know much about him and I don’t know how he’d react to having to choose between writing projects. You, however, might be a big fan and feel you know his personality inside out. That’s the key to making a success of this…

--

--

Phil Hurst
The Startup

Storyteller. Specifically sci-fi, history, crime. Occasional advice giver. Find out more: www.philhurstwriter.co.uk